MSI Release of 3.0.21

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
brich4750
New Cone
New Cone

MSI Release of 3.0.21

Postby brich4750 » 12 Jul 2024 14:37

Read the locked post and also wondered when the MSI version would be released.
I looked at the https://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/ site and for every version I checked of Windows releases the EXE and MSI version were uploaded on the same day.

Perhaps did the MSI get created and forgotten to be uploaded?
Did the team that makes MSI Installer have issues and was going to circle back around to it and got sidetracked?

As an IT Engineer I can see both of these scenarios happening.

Since my Deployments are already using the MSI switching to exe is not a supported path.

Patiently waiting for a MSI Installer for over 10k systems.

Rémi Denis-Courmont
Developer
Developer
VLC version: master
Operating System: Linux

Re: MSI Release of 3.0.21

Postby Rémi Denis-Courmont » 12 Jul 2024 17:43

VLC 3.0.21 will not be released as MSI nor with automatic updates due to regressions.

With that being said, I don't think large institutional installations should be relying on the volunteer team for releases, especially not timely releases.
Rémi Denis-Courmont
https://www.remlab.net/
Private messages soliciting support will be systematically discarded

brich4750
New Cone
New Cone

Postby brich4750 » 12 Jul 2024 22:03

I can understand testing and what not but this is the first release in Many Years that didn't have a MSI Released at the same time as an EXE release.

And Large Institution?

Sorry should have elaborated I manage Several Clients that total over 10K systems, not a single client.

I can wait for the next release to be released with a MSI Installer unless We run into and CVE that need patching.