Cannot See UPNP and Local Network Options VLC iOS 3.2.13

iOS, iPad, iPhone, tvOS specific usage questions
shannonbrown
New Cone
New Cone

Cannot See UPNP and Local Network Options VLC iOS 3.2.13

Postby shannonbrown » 19 Dec 2020 04:25

VLC for iOS 3.2.13

The iOS VLC 3.2.13 description indicates "Local Network service discovery with UPnP and native support for Plex"

I also read about Local Network etc.

However, I am not seeing any options in the App for Local Network nor for UPNP discovery.

I have a SMB (SAMBA) share and that does appear under the NETWORK tab as File Servers. But I see no way to list other UPNP shares (e.g., a test KODI server). Verified that I am on the same network but don't see these options.

In the Windows 10 VLC, I confirm that I see the UPnP server listed in the desktop version of Local Network...UPnP. On the iOS app, I don't even see any options for Local Network or anything about UPnP. The NETWORK tab on the iOS version only lists Cloud..Network Stream...Downloads,,,and Sharing via WIFI. But nothing about local network or UPnP.

How do I see the Local Network...UPNP servers?

ebomb
New Cone
New Cone

Re: Cannot See UPNP and Local Network Options VLC iOS 3.2.13

Postby ebomb » 21 Dec 2020 03:39

Hi there.

I'm not sure what your iOS version is. I think starting in iOS 14, you have to give each app permission to ~"locate resources" on your network. If you dismissed this dialog box, I think you will have problems. You can go to Settings | VLC | "Local Network" should be turned on.

If it is turned on, across the bottom bar of VLC, I have "Video | Audio | Playlists | Network | Settings". I find my SMB servers and UPnP devices in the "Network" tab.

shannonbrown
New Cone
New Cone

Postby shannonbrown » 21 Dec 2020 04:06

Thanks eBomb.
I am starting to suspect the iPhone App.
iOS 14.3
VLC for iOS 3.2.13