RTSP stream auto-reconnect?

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
DiegoFalcon
New Cone
New Cone

RTSP stream auto-reconnect?

Postby DiegoFalcon » 20 Apr 2016 18:15

Hello!

I am a bird biologist and we are using VLC to stream a bird nest cam from a camera installed in the nest. (http://kestrel.peregrinefund.org/webcams) Our viewers enjoy the 24/7 look into the birds incubating eggs and raising chicks.

My question is this - the stream is an RTSP stream that then is fed into OBS and streamed to Youtube. While our internet network is good most of the time, it does occasionally blip. This is unavoidable, due to internet options in our remote area. When the network blips even the slightest bit, VLC stops the stream and loses its window size. Which means I have to manually either go back, click play and resize, or remote in to do so if I am not in the office. As you can imagine, trying to keep a constant eye on the stream is somewhat of a pain, and it seems VLC stops even with the tiniest internet blip.

Is there any way to get VLC to auto-retry the stream instead of just stopping? It would save me a lot of hassle. Any suggestions or alternatives welcome. It would be nice even if VLC could just keep whatever window size locked even, so I don't have to re-size every time.

Forgive me if I'm missing something obvious :) I'm a bird biologist, not a software developer. Thank you for your time and input!
-Diego

sdelpozuelo
New Cone
New Cone

Re: RTSP stream auto-reconnect?

Postby sdelpozuelo » 07 Feb 2019 23:06

Hi,
I'm exactly in the same situation:

- a birdcam in a nest, streaming to YouTube 24x7.
- with the same tools, VLC + OBS.
- with the same protocol, rtsp.

- ...and with the same issue, so VLC doesn't reconnect the media when it faults.

Diego, did you fixed it?

If not, can anyone help us, please? The new nesting season will start soon!

Thank you for your support.
All the best,
Santiago

sdelpozuelo
New Cone
New Cone