[Solution found] Problems with Danish version of windows

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

[Solution found] Problems with Danish version of windows

Postby karlar » 10 Nov 2006 17:49

I have come cross a problem with the activex object.
Its seems like this fails on all danish windows xp home edition versions.
But runs fine on a normal english version of windows xp.

When I load this page, I will see the vlc logo, so the activex object is loaded.

But when i try to communicat with the activex object it fails. Fx. document.vlc.play(); It fails.

And i have no idea what i can do to fix this problem.

Code: Select all

<html> <head> <title> Test </title> </head> <script> function make() { document.getElementById('place').innerHTML='<OBJECT id="vlc" name="vlc" classid="clsid:E23FE9C6-778E-49D4-B537-38FCDE4887D8" height="0" width="0"><param name="Loop" value="True"/></OBJECT>'; vlc.style.height = 150+""; vlc.style.width = 200+""; try { document.vlc.stop(); document.vlc.play(); } catch(e) { alert("Error does not work in danish version") } } </script> <body onload="make()"> <div id="place"></div> </body> </html>
Please if anyone have an idea, let me know.
Last edited by karlar on 13 Nov 2006 15:59, edited 1 time in total.

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 13 Nov 2006 12:30

Its seems like the danish version of windows pro also is include.

Which make me think that there is a problem with some of the paths in the activex object.

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 13 Nov 2006 14:44

So far i have found that there some inconsistent in regedit between the english and danish version. See images

danish:
http://www.apanta.com/media/image/error/work/danish.PNG

english:
http://www.apanta.com/media/image/error ... nglish.PNG

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Fix

Postby karlar » 13 Nov 2006 15:58

I fixed it wiiiiiiiii :-)

Fix: Add this to regedit and change the "$PATH" to path VideoLAN

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{DF2BBE39-40A8-433B-A279-073F48DA94B6}] [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{DF2BBE39-40A8-433B-A279-073F48DA94B6}\1.0] @="VideoLAN VLC ActiveX Plugin" [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{DF2BBE39-40A8-433B-A279-073F48DA94B6}\1.0\0] [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{DF2BBE39-40A8-433B-A279-073F48DA94B6}\1.0\0\win32] @="C:\\$PATH\\VideoLAN\\VLC\\axvlc.dll" [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{DF2BBE39-40A8-433B-A279-073F48DA94B6}\1.0\FLAGS] @="0" [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{DF2BBE39-40A8-433B-A279-073F48DA94B6}\1.0\HELPDIR] @="C:\\$PATH\\VideoLAN\\VLC"
Would it be possible to fix in the next version of vlc ?

And does anyone know if this is an isolated issue or are more localized windows version affected ?

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 01 Dec 2006 15:20

that's very interesting.
Normally the VLC TypeLibrary is declared as language neutral, which means that it should work for any language.
this clearly doesn't work for you, I suspect that the TypeLibrary registration failed somehow.
can you try again with 0.8.6-rc1 and tell us if it works better or not.

providers
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Dec 2006 17:17

Postby providers » 06 Dec 2006 17:20

Hi


I tryed with 0.8.6-rc1, it dident help me.

Then I tryed to add registy fix, kalar found,
Now all works :)


thanks to karlar


rgs.
Providers

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 07 Dec 2006 19:16

as providers said, the 0.8.6-rc1 is also affected by the problem

np providers

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 14 Dec 2006 10:27

i do not think 0.8.6 fixes that issue, but i would like to have it solved for 0.9.0. Since i cannot reproduce that problem, you will have to help me finding the root cause.
can you install 0.8.6 final, then verify if that problem shows up again, try the following on the command line:

Code: Select all

REGSVR32 /U C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\axvlc.dll
then

Code: Select all

REGSVR32 C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\axvlc.dll
change the path to wherever you installed VLC if it is not the default

if any of those commands returns an error, could you post the error code as seen in the dialog box. If it worked, can you also check if the Type Library is working properly as well

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 18 Dec 2006 11:37

I got an error when trying to register the activex com.

The translated error:
dllregisterserver in c:\programmer\videolan\vlc\axvlc.dll failed
returncode was: 0x80040200.

please say if you need more information

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 18 Dec 2006 15:24

after a quick search on the Internet, it seems that error 80040200 is related to your computer security, which is set to a very high setting

To fix, set your browser's security settings for the Internet zone to Medium or lower.

Tell me if that fix your problem

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 18 Dec 2006 15:56

the level is already set to medium or so its seems, is there anyway to test if the level is really set to medium, just for double checking.

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 19 Dec 2006 15:35

I dunno really, check under the custom tab in the security panel that unsigned activex are allowed to be installed or something like that. it is also possible that an antivirus or some firewall software is also preventing VLC installer from installing the activex control properly

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 19 Dec 2006 16:05

should be fine, all antivirus is disabled and the security lvl should allow installation of activex control. but same error appears.

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 19 Dec 2006 16:11

well, i'm completely lost, when you google for 0x80040200, it all points to some security problems

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 19 Dec 2006 16:15

To test it could we find another unsigned activex control to install and see if it fails ?

tonsofpcs
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 363
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 10:03
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA
Contact:

Postby tonsofpcs » 19 Dec 2006 21:39

Try setting the local zone to safe (I forget the names for these, but it should be apparent). It also may be denying you if you are not logged in as administrator.

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 22 Dec 2006 13:51

I will try to look at it over the christmas

bubu
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Jan 2007 00:58

Postby bubu » 12 Jan 2007 01:01

Sorry for bad english...

if installing in this directory : "e:\videolan\vlc"

i can register activex and use it with VB6

if installing in this directory : "e:\vlc"

i can't register activex.

karlar
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 73
Joined: 12 Jun 2006 12:25

Postby karlar » 18 Jan 2007 13:43

The security lvl seems fine.

Perhaps i could try to set up a danish version of windows that you could access by remote desktop or something.

freak_DK
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Jan 2007 22:20

Postby freak_DK » 23 Jan 2007 22:23

Copy axvlc.dll and libvlc.dll to windows/system32 and do the "regsvr32 axvlc.dll" from here and voila !

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 01 Feb 2007 11:02

could you try http://nightlies.videolan.org/build/win ... -win32.exe

an see if that works for you


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests