Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
hax001
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 01:38

Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby hax001 » 27 Aug 2013 19:29

In both the embed and object implementations of the browser plugin, I am unable to set marquee and logo values - error " Invalid value in assignment ".

I can however, get the version info:

Commented out lines do not work:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript"> $(document).ready(function() { var vlc = document.getElementById("vlc"); console.log("VLC plugin version: " + vlc.versionInfo()); // v 2.0.8 Twoflower var options = new Array(":vout-filter=deinterlace", ":deinterlace-mode=linear", ":sub-filter=marq", ":sub-filter=logo"); vlc.video.marquee.text = "Hello World"; vlc.video.marquee.position = 9; //vlc.video.marquee.color = "0xFF0000"; //vlc.video.marquee.size = 5; //vlc.video.marquee.x = 25; //vlc.video.marquee.y = 25; //vlc.video.marquee.timeout = 0; //vlc.video.marquee.enable(); //vlc.audio.equalizer.enable(); }); </script>
What am I doing wrong here?


Thanks.

hax001
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 01:38

Re: Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby hax001 » 27 Aug 2013 20:10

As per ticket 3464 https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/3464, it seems these are video filter features and will not be enabled for web plugin for security reasons.

HOWEVER, the web plugin documentation includes references to these - https://wiki.videolan.org/Documentation ... ogo_Object.

So how do i get this working?

eli13
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 25
Joined: 21 May 2012 15:28

Re: Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby eli13 » 28 Aug 2013 11:42

I started using fbVLC from http://sourceforge.net/projects/fbvlc/ for plugin-stuff. The documentation is more up-to-date there.

Marquee things are working there, I managed to display a marquee-text on top of the video (didnt test logo).
But you will not have much fun of it, as sooner or later IE / Firefox / Whatever browser you use will crash with an AccessViolation from within libfreetype.dll

Edit: Using FbVlc version: 0.0.3.0; VLC version: 2.0.6 Twoflower

RSATom
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 513
Joined: 24 Nov 2011 06:55
Operating System: Windows/Linux/OsX
Location: Russia, Tomsk

Re: Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby RSATom » 28 Aug 2013 14:20

But you will not have much fun of it, as sooner or later IE / Firefox / Whatever browser you use will crash with an AccessViolation from within libfreetype.dll

Edit: Using FbVlc version: 0.0.3.0; VLC version: 2.0.6 Twoflower
Very interesting. Did you try FBVLC 0.0.4?

I wonder, Is problem with libfreetipe.dll well known? Or it occur only with FBVLC?

hax001
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 01:38

Re: Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby hax001 » 28 Aug 2013 16:16

Thanks for the head's-up. Rather wait than reproduce frustration :).

eli13
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 25
Joined: 21 May 2012 15:28

Re: Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby eli13 » 28 Aug 2013 17:27

@RSATom: Well, what is well-known? I think there is no bug-report about it, but it is very well known to me:

I started working with VLC around version 2.0.1 - not the plugin, the lib, using it in a C++ application. I've always experienced crashes that come definitely from inside libfreetype.dll with VLC 2.0.1 up to 2.0.6. So no, its not a problem specific to FbVlc.
I did not test VLC > 2.0.6 (but there's nothing about freetype in NEWS).

Sometimes everything is fine and streams run for several days, sometimes it crashes within a few minutes. I think the last call I saw on the stack was a call to 'free' (from libfreetype.dll) but I might be totally wrong (out of my head).

We are simply not using the marquee options: In the standalone app we place a simple label below the video, in the web-plugin we use the fancy windowless mode and place a transparent div on top of it to display the text. Thats nicer anyway, so we can use all the css-things to style the text.

There was always some other confusion about marquee: If you set the text while libVlc is still buffering (but the video is already being displayed) libVlc "forgets" about the marquee that has just been set and you have to set it again.
When 2.0.5 was released there was a note that some crash in freetype has been resolved, but not the one I experience ( * Fix crash in Freetype with embedded fonts ).

Well, maybe I'm just using it the wrong way - but you cannot do much more then call the marquee api things. Sometimes I'm calling them quite often as sometimes I need to update the text often, maybe that is not common? Maybe its also related to the video-format used, the transport-protocol, etc., (here: always rtsp with --rtsp-tcp and h.264) so that it occurs only in a very special environment (?)

Unfortunately I cannot help much to debug things - I'm on Windows with Visual Studio and I would somehow need to get symbols that can be loaded by VS so that I could look at a stacktrace from within libfreetype.dll.

RSATom
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 513
Joined: 24 Nov 2011 06:55
Operating System: Windows/Linux/OsX
Location: Russia, Tomsk

Re: Problem setting marquee and logo - how to resolve?

Postby RSATom » 29 Aug 2013 05:27

Thanks for information. It's very usefull.
Unfortunately I cannot help much to debug things - I'm on Windows with Visual Studio and I would somehow need to get symbols that can be loaded by VS so that I could look at a stacktrace from within libfreetype.dll.

We are on same side. I am "windows guy" too - and I am very frustrating I can't use VS for debugging. At least I can use VS for FBVLC - it's much simplifying development.
Nonetheless, the way to debug libvlc exists - it not very simple, but it exists - you can use Qt Creator + toolchain from MinGW build of Qt 5.x. But in this case it will be better build vlc by yourself with disabled compiler optimizations, which is not simple task by itself - I try to do it already about a weak - without success. I only get many different problems - it seams i do something totally wrong...


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests