Deinterlace and Resize only height before transcode

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
pezgordo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 03:04

Deinterlace and Resize only height before transcode

Postby pezgordo » 11 Jun 2013 07:03

I'm trying to stream video from an HDV camera.

What I want to do (ideally) is to deinterlace the 1440x1080 using a discard method thus leaving me a 1440 x 540 at 25/30 fps (either PAL or NTSC worlds) and then transcode using h.264 and stream.

The problems are:

When I use discard as deinterlace method I end up with 1440x1080 frames (I'm guessing it doubles the lines) and 50/60 fps (also doubling the FPS) wich is a lot of redundant info that I do not want to transcode to stream.

I tried forcing fps, width and height in the transcode options but I never get what I want on the end ponit.

I can set the FPS (although I'm guessing it averages frames wich is useless processing if they have just being copied before) but the scaling always seems to be done proportional for both height and width regardless of what I set.

I mean I can get either 1440x1080 or 720x540 (quarter of the rez, not half) but I can not get 1440x540.

Is there a way to do achieve this without having to modify the code and recompile VLC??

And/OR

Can I apply transformations to the video stream (deinterlace, resize and changeFPS) BEFORE the transcode, and then transcode?

Cause I've tried setting deinterlacing options at the source but then the transcode module seems to be receiving the original stream without the deinterlacing (I mean i get visible interlacing on the end point regardless of what i specified at the input)

Help is appreciated, thanks.

pezgordo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 03:04

Re: Deinterlace and Resize only height before transcode

Postby pezgordo » 13 Jun 2013 08:33

UPDATE

Somehow now I can set the resolution to anything I want (wich is better), I do not totally grasp what the hell is deinterlace doing (either of them) and...

FPS is not ok.

If i set a value inside transcode module, what I get on the end point SAYS it is twice that value always (as specified when opening codec info on the vlc player at end point)

I entered a value of FPS=2 to see what's going on and I get a stream that says it's 4 FPS but it actually is a lot more than that since I do not see a 2FPS discontinuity in video played.

The command line I'm using is this:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" -vvv dshow:// --dshow-vdev="Sony HDR-HC1E" --live-caching=100 --deinterlace=1--sout "#duplicate{dst=display,dst=transcode {venc=x264{tune=zerolatency},vcodec=h264,codec=mpga,vb=2000,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100,height=540,width=1440,fps=2,deinterlace}} :duplicate{dst=std{access=udp{caching=0},mux=ts,dst=192.168.1.11:1234},dst=std{access=udp{caching=100},mux=ts,dst=127.0.0.1:1234}}"
Ideas anyone?

Rémi Denis-Courmont
Developer
Developer
Posts: 15317
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 16:01
VLC version: master
Operating System: Linux
Contact:

Re: Deinterlace and Resize only height before transcode

Postby Rémi Denis-Courmont » 13 Jun 2013 15:36

VLC does not currently supporting resampling video; the fps stanza is just for the show.
The frame rate is multipled by two by the deinterlacer depending on the deinterlacing algorithm.
Rémi Denis-Courmont
https://www.remlab.net/
Private messages soliciting support will be systematically discarded

pezgordo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 03:04

Re: Deinterlace and Resize only height before transcode

Postby pezgordo » 13 Jun 2013 21:29

Well, in that case, since I am not really interested in resampling, just want to avoid encoding doubled frames.

Is there a way to actually do a DISCARD deinterlace and properly end up with the same FRAME count and HALF the FIELD count ?

How can I specify something like deinterlace-method=Discard, doublerate=FALSE or something?


Return to “VLC stream-output (sout)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests