VLC launch from Java

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
ram_95014
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Sep 2011 01:53

VLC launch from Java

Postby ram_95014 » 20 Sep 2011 01:59

I previously had no problems interacting with VLC from Java. I used to launch using
process = Runtime.getRuntime().exec("C:\\Program Files(x86)\\VideoLAN\\VLC\\vlc.exe")

and read the stdout using process.getErrorStream().

For example, to get the VLC version I used the following command:

"C:\\Program Files(x86)\\VideoLAN\\VLC\\vlc.exe" --reset-config -I dummy --dummy-quiet -version vlc://quit

and this has worked for me always. Starting with version 1.1, however, I am unable to to get vlc to ouput on stdout or stderr. What has changed?

Could you please provide a way to interact with vlc easily?

Thanks,
-Ram Natarajan

ram_95014
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Sep 2011 01:53

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby ram_95014 » 20 Sep 2011 02:08

Update:
I have even tried --version instead of -version.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby VLC_help » 20 Sep 2011 16:03

If you run

Code: Select all

"C:\\Program Files(x86)\\VideoLAN\\VLC\\vlc.exe" --version
via command-line, do you get the version info?

ram_95014
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Sep 2011 01:53

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby ram_95014 » 20 Sep 2011 19:00

No - not from java. However, if I execute the command from a cmd window, vlc pops open a new cmd like window saying
"Dumped contents to vlc-help.txt file. Press the RETURN key to continue."

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby VLC_help » 21 Sep 2011 16:50

That is bug then. I will check and trac this during weekend.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby VLC_help » 25 Sep 2011 11:20


tapif
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Oct 2011 19:08

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby tapif » 13 Oct 2011 18:31

I met a problem that could be somehow related to this:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC>vlc Z:\Riese.avi -I dummy --sout=#transcode{vcode c=h264,vb=500,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=32,channels=2,samplerate=44100,audio-sync}: standard{mux=ts,dst=-} > output.ts
This line is opening a new shell window with all the output flowing inside it, while output.ts remains empty.
Same line on linux works as expected
I am using VLC 1.1.11 on Seven
I will check older vlc releases to see if any works

tapif
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Oct 2011 19:08

Re: VLC launch from Java

Postby tapif » 13 Oct 2011 19:08

UPDATE:
adding '--dummy-quiet' to command line parameters solved my issue


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 49 guests