Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
fnemo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jun 2010 09:39

Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

Postby fnemo » 29 Jun 2010 09:52

Hi all

I'm using VLC on command line to monitor several streams (using different protocol : MMS, RTSP, HTTP LiveStreaming...).
Since the 1.1.0, I implemented the RTMP monitoring in my app.
The isse is that, if the application or the stream name has several level, VLC won't open it. I did check on Gentoo (command line), Ubuntu (deb package with GUI), Windows (XP/Seven) and Mac OS X (10.5 and 10.6)

The problem is that it hangs on :

Code: Select all

[0x1e5bf30] access_avio access debug: Opening 'rtmp://stream2.france24.yacast.net/france24_live/fr/f24_livefr' [0x1e5bf30] access_avio access debug: is_streamed=1 size=-38 [0x1e5bf30] main access debug: using access module "access_avio" [0x1e5bf30] main access debug: TIMER module_need() : 3595.602 ms - Total 3595.602 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 3595.602 ms) [0x1e54480] main stream debug: Using AStream*Stream [0x1e54480] main stream debug: pre buffering
Here is a few streams.

rtmp://stream2.france24.yacast.net/france24_live/en/f24_liveen
It does not work
several level in application name => france24_live/en
one level in stream name => f24_liveen

rtmp://stream2.jmm.yacast.net/jmm_snrt/jt/lundi/laayoune/jt
It does not work
one level in application name => jmm_snrt
several level in stream name => jt/lundi/laayoune/jt
(this one is not a permanent stream so I'm not sure you will be able to use it to test)

rtmp://stream2.lcp.yacast.net/lcp_live/lcp24
It works
one level in application name => lcp_live
one level in stream name => lcp24

You can compare using this embedded player : http://viphttpplayers.yacast.net/V4/tes ... CS3_e.html

Regards,
Francois

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 01 Jul 2010 00:53

RTMP is very bad in VLC anyway. We will change the support in 1.2
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

hyc
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Jul 2010 02:34

Re: Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

Postby hyc » 02 Jul 2010 02:39

The problem is there is no way to determine for any arbitrary RTMP URL which portion is the app name and which is the stream name. You have to provide that information yourself. With librtmp you append options to the URL to make it explicit:
  • "rtmp://stream2.france24.yacast.net app=france24_live/en playpath=f24_liveen"
  • "rtmp://stream2.jmm.yacast.net/jmm_snrt playpath=jt/lundi/laayoune/jt"

fnemo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jun 2010 09:39

Re: Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

Postby fnemo » 02 Jul 2010 11:56

It seems I'm stuck with the use of libavformat ... whenever I recompiled ffmpeg with librtmp support ... weird ... I'll dig on this.

Thanks for the tip

fnemo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jun 2010 09:39

Re: Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

Postby fnemo » 02 Jul 2010 12:18

nevermind. I missed some arguments (tcUrl and live). Now it's fine.

Thank you !

streampunk
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 22:31

Re: Can't play RTMP streams named a certain way

Postby streampunk » 25 Jul 2011 20:36

Could you post the exact command line you used to get France24 to work?

Thanks!


Return to “General VLC media player Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests