commandline vs. GUI "creation of command line options"

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
rjm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Dec 2010 08:17

commandline vs. GUI "creation of command line options"

Postby rjm » 07 Dec 2010 08:45

While composing a command line stream via GUI, I get proper operation. However, when I try to make the equivalent directly as a command line, it gets stuck. An example: I select /dev/video0 as the input, and compose the appropriate output ensemble that looks exactly like this in the "generated stream output string":

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=500,fps=15,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:udp{dst=239.255.1.1:1234} :no-sout-rtp-sap :no-sout-standard-sap :sout-keep
This works fine.
Then I copy&paste this info into a command line as follows:

Code: Select all

vlc v4l2:///dev/video0 <copied from quote above>
... it does not work:
  • [0x8fb8824] main stream output error: stream chain failed for `transcodesamplerate=44100:udp{dst=239.255.1.1:1234}'
    [0x8dc6bfc] main input error: cannot start stream output instance, aborting
I also tried adding 's here: '#transcode.......:1234}'. Not such error as above, but still no operation.

I also tried copying other failing options, gathered from the -vvv verbose output:
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: MRL passed to the Sout: v4l2:///dev/video0
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: input-slave=alsa://
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: v4l2-standard=0
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: file-caching=300
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: :sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=500,fps=15,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:udp{dst=239.255.1.1:1234}
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: no-sout-rtp-sap
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: no-sout-standard-sap
[0x9f8252c] qt4 interface debug: Adding option: sout-keep
[0x9f83534] main playlist debug: adding item `Streaming' ( v4l2:///dev/video0 )
The command line looks like this:

Code: Select all

cvlc v4l2:///dev/video0 :input-slave=alsa:// :v4l2-standard=0 :file-caching=300 :sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=500,fps=15,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:udp{dst=239.255.1.1:1234} :no-sout-rtp-sap :no-sout-standard-sap :sout-keep
I'd wish an option in vlc that shows the complete command line after having composed one via GUI... (I have spent hours to try to get it right, quite frustrating)

Greg
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 316
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 00:37

Re: commandline vs. GUI "creation of command line options"

Postby Greg » 08 Dec 2010 00:06

See, for a brief description and example...

http://wiki.videolan.org/Stream_VLC_to_ ... h#Appendix

First prove out your input, which should be like this

Code: Select all

vlc v4l2:// :input-slave=alsa:// :v4l2-standard=0
Try this first at the terminal to make sure it plays your capture device. ( you won't need any '...' around your devices in linux)

Then add your

Code: Select all

:sout='#transcode{....................}'
You will need '...' around your transcode as above.
Add

Code: Select all

:options
as required

rjm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Dec 2010 08:17

Re: commandline vs. GUI "creation of command line options"

Postby rjm » 08 Dec 2010 09:30

Well, now it works. I did test it with the single quotes, as documented above, and also with adding the ":input-slave=alsa:// :v4l2-standard=0 :file-caching=300"- stuff which represent the options from the input stream, but not *both* at the same time...
Thanks for your help!


Return to “General VLC media player Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests