VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Discussion about configuration and usage of VLM (a stream scheduler) within VLC.
Martie
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2009 17:49

VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Martie » 10 Aug 2009 18:16

Hello!

Could anyone post a basic example of streaming multiple videos as a single stream? I tried this but with no luck:


% vlc --sout-keep --sout "#gather" --ttl 12 -vvv --color -I telnet --rtsp-host 0.0.0.0:5554 --vlm-conf vlm.conf

vlm.conf :
new test vod enabled
setup test input /home/ab/1.mp4
setup test input /home/ab/2.mp4
setup test input /home/ab/3.mp4


When I open the "test" stream, only the first file is played. The next two files seem to be ignored.
Any help would appreaciated. Thanks in advance!

Martie
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2009 17:49

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Martie » 08 Sep 2009 11:57

This funcionality seems to be disabled in VLC since version 0.9. I managed to get it work by a small modification in the code, in the file: src/input/vlm.c:

In function Manage(), line 345, I replaced:

Code: Select all

/* FIXME implement multiple input with VOD */ if( p_media->cfg.b_vod || i_new_input_index >= p_media->cfg.i_input ) vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_STOP_MEDIA_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name ); else vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_START_MEDIA_BROADCAST_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name, i_new_input_index );
with:

Code: Select all

if( i_new_input_index >= p_media->cfg.i_input ) vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_STOP_MEDIA_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name ); else if ( p_media->cfg.b_vod ) /* VoD */ vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_START_MEDIA_VOD_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name, i_new_input_index, "dummy_string"); else /* Broadcast */ vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_START_MEDIA_BROADCAST_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name, i_new_input_index );

It works fine for me, the only condition is that the first file of the stream must be playable, otherwise the stream won't play. I use VLC 1.0.1.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 08 Sep 2009 18:04

Can you send the patch to vlc-devel?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

Martie
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2009 17:49

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Martie » 08 Sep 2009 21:39

As you wished, I just sent the patch to vlc-devel@videolan.org

Sébastien Escudier
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 853
Joined: 06 Nov 2008 08:38
Operating System: linux

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Sébastien Escudier » 01 Oct 2009 14:22

Hi,

I think RTSP and multiple inputs is undefined, and doesn't make sense.
So, adding a new input for a VOD item should replace the old one.
Unless you can explain why and how it should work ? what about seeking ? and "next" command doesn't exists.
Reading RTSP RFC, multiple streams per url is only defined as aggregates streams.

Why don't you use multiple VOD items for the server, and playlists for the client ?

coolnumber9
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 11 Jun 2010 08:36

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby coolnumber9 » 08 Jul 2010 11:24

Can you send the patch to vlc-devel?
Hi j-b,

Has this modification/patch been included in VLC's version 1.0.2 Goldeneye or the latest v1.1.0?

I tried setting up multiple inputs in one VOD object in my Goldeneye and only the first input was streamed.

Thanks!

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 08 Jul 2010 21:02

1.1.0 more likely
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

coolnumber9
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 11 Jun 2010 08:36

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby coolnumber9 » 12 Jul 2010 06:18

Thanks for the quick response, j-b.

I have a problem with the latest version. Even single input in a single stream did not work for me. I have posted my steps here: http://goo.gl/kTbz.

quickpass
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Jan 2017 18:24

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby quickpass » 30 Jan 2017 18:32

I am having exact problem as the original post with VLC version 2.2.2. Does anyone know if this ever gets fixed? Thanks.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 11 Jun 2017 15:35

Please share logs, once again.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.


Return to “VLM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests