Windows Shortcuts

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
Scotchman
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Feb 2010 16:39

Windows Shortcuts

Postby Scotchman » 23 Feb 2010 16:52

OK, I am trying to Stream my Windows Default Soundcard mixer over my home network. UDP does not seem to work but I WAS able to do this over HTTP.

I can set it up manually in V<C on the server and the result line is this:

MRL= dshow://
EDIT= :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=Realtek HD Audio Input:dshow-caching=200 :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=Realtek HD Audio Input :dshow-size= :dshow-chroma= :dshow-fps=0 :no-dshow-config :no-dshow-tuner :dshow-tuner-channel=0 :dshow-tuner-country=0 :dshow-tuner-input=0 :dshow-video-input=-1 :dshow-video-output=-1 :dshow-audio-input=-1 :dshow-audio-output=-1 :dshow-amtuner-mode=1 :dshow-audio-channels=0 :dshow-audio-samplerate=0 :dshow-audio-bitspersample=0


OUTPUT STREAM
:sout=#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=raw,dst=192.168.1.100:8080}



On the RECEIVING Computers I can make a Windows Shortcut with this:
URL=C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" http://192.168.1.100:8080


Clicking the Shortcut runs VLC and it receives the Networked Stream.

But every time I reboot and want to start the server I must do in manually and enter in the IP etc all over again.

Is there a way to create a batch or shortcut to start VLC and set it to automatically Stream my Default Mixer using the above information.

I tried something like this"

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" --dshow-adev="Realtek HD Audio Input" --dshow-caching=300 --sout=#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=raw,dst=192.168.1.100:8080}

But when I hit the 'Play' button it takes me to the 'Open File' dialog.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby VLC_help » 23 Feb 2010 17:32

Just create .bat file and paste your code there

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=Realtek HD Audio Input:dshow-caching=200 :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=Realtek HD Audio Input :dshow-size= :dshow-chroma= :dshow-fps=0 :no-dshow-config :no-dshow-tuner :dshow-tuner-channel=0 :dshow-tuner-country=0 :dshow-tuner-input=0 :dshow-video-input=-1 :dshow-video-output=-1 :dshow-audio-input=-1 :dshow-audio-output=-1 :dshow-amtuner-mode=1 :dshow-audio-channels=0 :dshow-audio-samplerate=0 :dshow-audio-bitspersample=0 :sout=#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=raw,dst=192.168.1.100:8080}

Scotchman
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Feb 2010 16:39

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby Scotchman » 23 Feb 2010 17:57

I get silence. But if I manually setup the stream and produce the same MRL, EDIT and SOUT... I get Network sound.

OK Now I got it to work. I had to shut down the VLC receinving and restart it or it would not rebuffer the stream.

Here is the final Shortcut for windows.


TRANSMITTER
"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" dshow:// :dshow-adev="Realtek HD Audio Input" :dshow-caching=200
:sout=#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=raw,dst=192.168.1.100:8080}


RECEIVER
"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" http://192.168.1.100:8080


Quotes were needed around the Soundcard name.

Thanks

Scotchman
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Feb 2010 16:39

Re: Windows Shortcuts And Silent Operation

Postby Scotchman » 23 Feb 2010 21:16

Is there still a way to start VLC silently as a daemon service? I want it to start on my server at boot (Got that working) but I prefer it to no display a dialogue to close. Even without a tray icon is ok.

I would love to see BOTH Daemon and TrayIcon as optional toggles from Command Line launch.

Is this possible?

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby VLC_help » 24 Feb 2010 16:32

There is a NT service install model.

Code: Select all

Windows Service interface --ntservice-install, --no-ntservice-install Install Windows Service (default disabled) Install the Service and exit. (default disabled) --ntservice-uninstall, --no-ntservice-uninstall Uninstall Windows Service (default disabled) Uninstall the Service and exit. (default disabled) --ntservice-name=<string> Display name of the Service Change the display name of the Service. --ntservice-options=<string> Configuration options Configuration options that will be used by the Service (eg. --foo=bar --no-foobar). It should be specified at install time so the Service is properly configured. --ntservice-extraintf=<string> Extra interface modules Additional interfaces spawned by the Service. It should be specified at install time so the Service is properly configured. Use a comma separated list of interface modules. (common values are: logger, sap, rc, http)
Other thing you can do is to launch VLC without GUI

Code: Select all

vlc -I dummy

Scotchman
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Feb 2010 16:39

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby Scotchman » 25 Feb 2010 15:28

Thank you

FixedSys
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Mar 2010 02:59

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby FixedSys » 12 Mar 2010 03:22

This is so very close to what I need. Well actually it is but I am confused as to what is happening.
I have two sound devices.
1) Santa Cruz(tm)
2) Logitech USB Headset

I have used the examples given for the shortcuts.
I am trying to capture the audio that is being sent to the Logitech USB Headset's headphone portion and transmit it to another PC on the other side of the house.
What is happening is it capturing the MIC portion of the head set. The Logitech USB Headset is the default windows sound device. It has to be so I can receive the VOIP support calls ( work from home )

I am wanting the ring tone, chat client and all windows dings transmitted to a pc on the other side of the house.
I have tried switching the default device to the Santa Cruz(tm), and editing the code, but the same thing happens. (captures the microphone port)

What is also strange, to me, is the longer shortcut provided transmits the microphone across the network. My fiancee can hear me in the pc speakers on the other side of the house.
BUT, when I use the shorter shortcut the sound is routed in to the headphones and not across the network.

The LONG shorcut:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Logitech USB Headset" Input:dshow-caching=200 :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Logitech USB Headset :dshow-size= :dshow-chroma= :dshow-fps=0 :no-dshow-config :no-dshow-tuner :dshow-tuner-channel=0 :dshow-tuner-country=0 :dshow-tuner-input=0 :dshow-video-input=-1 :dshow-video-output=-1 :dshow-audio-input=-1 :dshow-audio-output=-1 :dshow-amtuner-mode=1 :dshow-audio-channels=0 :dshow-audio-samplerate=0 :dshow-audio-bitspersample=0 :sout=#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=raw,dst=192.168.1.11:8080}
The SHORT shortcut

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" dshow:// :dshow-adev="Logitech USB Headset" :dshow-caching=200 :sout=#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=raw,dst=192.168.1.11:8080}
Any clue would be greatly appreciated.

FixeSys

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby VLC_help » 12 Mar 2010 16:29

I am wanting the ring tone, chat client and all windows dings transmitted to a pc on the other side of the house.
You have to change the input to stereo-mix, what-u-hear or to similar.

FixedSys
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Mar 2010 02:59

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby FixedSys » 12 Mar 2010 19:14

Looking through the wiki...do you mean the "dshow-audio-input"?
That only accepts an integer but I am sure you know that.

Now I am not understanding where I need to change the input. Is there a parameter to pass to VLC or setting in VLC to change this?
I hope so and hope you are not meaning it is something that has to be changed in windows.

8^)

FixedSys

**Edit. I think I have it figured out. Some sound cards volume controls have "stereo mix" or "what you hear" so you must be saying to set one of those to the recording input for windows yes?
I may have to use virtual audio cable I am thinking because the driver for this usb head set does not feature "stereo mix" nor "what you hear".

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Windows Shortcuts

Postby VLC_help » 13 Mar 2010 19:14

Yep, --dshow-audio-input if you start from command-line. You can force it from soundcards control panel after you have started recoding.


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests