Streaming of 6 DVB card

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
mathone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Jul 2009 09:41

Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby mathone » 15 Jul 2009 10:25

Hi everybody,

Sorry for my bad english, but I'm french...
So, I would like to stream on a network some TV chanel which come from DVB-T and DVB-S card (max 9) and I have some problem :
In first I don't know how I can stream that with a simple C++ code (QT creator) and when I use VLC, 5 instances of VLC, it's to much for my CPU.
Can I stream all my DVB cards with only one VLC?
Can I stream that without VLC or only one library in my C++ code?
I just want to stream all chanels, and no see on my computer.
I want also use IGMP because I have a Gbit network but I don't want to load it for nothing.

Thank you for yours answer, :D

Mathieu.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 15 Jul 2009 11:37

Do you transcode?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

rh
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 158
Joined: 21 Sep 2006 13:11
VLC version: 2.0.2
Operating System: Lin / Win / Andr
Location: Germany

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby rh » 15 Jul 2009 13:08

Do you really want to stream ? IMHO its better to set this with VOD
scarcely you do it right it works ...
Greetings, rh

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 15 Jul 2009 13:36

I disagree.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

MrLou
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 18
Joined: 16 Apr 2009 17:37

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby MrLou » 16 Jul 2009 10:37

We do something similar with VLC under linux.

You'll probably need to have one instance of VLC for each stream you want to broadcast. As for CPU loading, I can't really tell you very much without knowing what hardware you're using, but we use Intel Xeon processors and have no problem serving 6 or evn 10 DVB streams. We don't transcode, we just pump out the MPEG TS from the card straight to the network.

So, to summarise, it's certainly possible but you might run into hardware limitations as the number of cards and amount of traffic increases.

Cheers,

Lou

mathone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Jul 2009 09:41

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby mathone » 16 Jul 2009 11:31

Thank you everybody for help,

I'm under linux (ubuntu V8.10, Kernel 2.6.29.4-ultimate, 2G ram, intel premium dual cpu 2.00GHz) , and I don't transcode, just stream all chanel :
My script used for stream :

#!/bin/sh
vlc -vvv --quiet --ttl 12 --intf dummy dvb:// --dvb-frequency=746167000 --dvb-adapter=0 --dvb-bandwidth=8 --programs 257,260,261,262,296 --sout='#duplicate{dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1235},select="program=257", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1238},select="program=260", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1239},select="program=261", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1240},select="program=262", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1236"},select="program=296"}'

And all my cards, I used the same things with an other adater and frequency.
I used 6 DVB card on PCI bus, and 3 on a firewire bus with a PCI expres converter.

When all my card are running, in first, its OK, but 30 minutes after, all my CPU and Memory are completly use...

What do you think about that?

MrLou
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 18
Joined: 16 Apr 2009 17:37

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby MrLou » 16 Jul 2009 12:05

What processes are using the CPU and memory, is it VLC, a driver task or something else?
What version of VLC are you using?

mathone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Jul 2009 09:41

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby mathone » 16 Jul 2009 12:38

8% for driver task and 15 - 20 % per each VLC (5 VLC => 100%)
Each VLC use 50 - 100 Mo, but somtimes one use 800 Mo,
I use VLC 0.9.4 Grishenko

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 16 Jul 2009 12:56

Well, use DVBlast for that.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

mathone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Jul 2009 09:41

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby mathone » 16 Jul 2009 13:35

Ok why not, but have some help for use that please?

mathone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Jul 2009 09:41

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby mathone » 16 Jul 2009 14:56

I try to use it, I install it properly, but now I have some problem to use it.
for DVB-T, what I have to stream ? I try to put this line on my file .conf :
224.0.0.1:1234 1 746167000 257
and in my script is :
./dvblast -c ./test.conf -a 0 -b 8
but dvblast return me that :
dvblast error: restarting
dvblast debug: tuning OFDM frontend to f=0 bandwidth=8 modulation=qam_auto
dvblast error: setting frontend failed (Invalid argument)
Where is my error ?
I try also that, but its doesn't work too...
./dvblast -d 239.255.0.1:1234 -b 8 -f 746167000 -u 257

MrLou
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 18
Joined: 16 Apr 2009 17:37

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby MrLou » 16 Jul 2009 18:55

You don't need the frequency in the conf file, the format is explained here:

http://svn.videolan.org/filedetails.php ... %2FINSTALL

Also, is the qam setting correct? The default is qam_auto but not all cards support auto setting.

mathone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Jul 2009 09:41

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby mathone » 17 Jul 2009 13:14

Ok, thank you for your help, I had already read this file, and change my conf, but now, when I want to receive the chanel on a VNC, there is a very bad quality. where is the problem about you? is it the qam?

MrLou
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 18
Joined: 16 Apr 2009 17:37

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby MrLou » 23 Jul 2009 15:50

I have the same problem, I don't think it's a configuration issue, I think it's a problem with dvblast.

meatpopsicle
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 04:19

Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card

Postby meatpopsicle » 29 Jul 2009 03:41

Hi MrLou,

Your setup is most impressive, I have been planning something similar at home for a while now. May I inquire as to the STB you are using and the PC mobo?

I have an old Cascade box and it does not seem to like the a52 (dolby?) audio. It works fine to another PC. There also seems to be a problem with starting streams. Sometimes it will packetise the a52 and sometimes not. When it does not packetise, it works on the STB.

I am in Melbourne, Australia and they have SD and HD content and would really like to know if the Amino STB can scale and decode both.

Meatpopsicle


Return to “VLC stream-output (sout)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests