Adding ActiveX in Visual Studio

This forum is about all development around libVLC.
Mzhang
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Apr 2009 19:55

Adding ActiveX in Visual Studio

Postby Mzhang » 21 May 2009 22:45

Hi All,

I am trying to add the VLC activeX to an unmanaged activeX program I wrote in visual studio 2005. I am managed to insert the activeX onto my dialogue box in resource view. Added a variable to it so I got a CWnd wrapper around the activeX.

When inserting the activeX, there are two plugins I can choose from (VIdeoLan AXVLCPlugin V11 and Plugin V2). To my understanding, Pluginv2 is the new version and Pluginv1 is old..

I first tried to add Plugin v1 , everything works fine.

Here is the question, I then tried to add Plugin v2, but I do not get all the exposed methods. I get access to some get/set methods but nothing like addTarget(), play(), pause() etc which I was able to access with Plugin v1.

So my question is if anyone can tell me why this happens. What is the difference between the two versions of VLC plugins?


Thanks very much,

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Adding ActiveX in Visual Studio

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 21 May 2009 23:59

API changed between Plugin1 and Plugin2, which is why you are missing things.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

Mzhang
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Apr 2009 19:55

Re: Adding ActiveX in Visual Studio

Postby Mzhang » 22 May 2009 16:17

Thanks for the reply, so if I want to use the addTarget methods et al..I should be using version 1 then?

I have problem getting the length of the file and I am wondering if this was because that i used plugin1 instead of plugin2.

If I do
mPlugin->addTarget (....);
mPlugin->get_length();
I got an exception 'no active input', so I thought maybe I have to play the file in order to obtain its length.

but If I do
mPlugin->addTarget(....)
mPlugin->Play(....)
mPlugin->Stop(....)
mPlugin->get_length()
I got the length to be zero..what am I missing here..?


Return to “Development around libVLC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests