Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
clive77
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Mar 2009 00:45

Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby clive77 » 14 Mar 2009 18:28

Hi there,

Just starting using VLC for a particular project (Ver 0.9.8a on 2000 and XP). I must admit this is quite a useful utility. I particularly like the command line flexibility. Actually, for this application I am building, I can only go “command line” when I launch VLC and I would like to ask these two questions:

1) Is there a way to remove the VLC orange traffic cone logo that pops up in the middle of the viewing window when the player loops through a movie? This might be caused by the switches I use. Here is what I use:
" --loop"
" --fullscreen"
" --no-video-title-show"
" --no-qt-name-in-title"
" --mouse-hide-timeout=0"
" --video-on-top"
" --qt-display-mode=2"
" --video-x=0"
" --video-y=0"
" --no-video-deco"
" --quiet"

Anything in there that could be modified or added so that the VLC logo stops showing?

I don’t mind giving VLC a good exposure (the name “VLC” is right there on the title bar of the window), it is just that I doubt my audience will appreciate this traffic cone showing up between each loop of a movie showing how neurons growth in a Petrie dish. Alternatively, can we change that logo to a black background, or something else?

2) Is there a way to loop from point A to B of a movie by setting a time for A and B through the command line?

Thanks a lot for any help!

clive77

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 14 Mar 2009 19:15

1) you have to recompile VLC to do that.
2) Not with command line.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

clive77
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Mar 2009 00:45

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby clive77 » 14 Mar 2009 22:33

1) you have to recompile VLC to do that.
Thanks j-b

I’m looking at:
http://wiki.videolan.org/Win32Compile

Compiling VLC is something I have no clue about and it does look like a daunting task for the beginner that I am. Is there any way I could simplify this process? I don’t mind working on it, I would just like to avoid spending days on something that might eventually fail because I have no experience in doing this.

Thanks,

clive77

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 15 Mar 2009 00:19


Compiling VLC is something I have no clue about and it does look like a daunting task for the beginner that I am. Is there any way I could simplify this process? I don’t mind working on it, I would just like to avoid spending days on something that might eventually fail because I have no experience in doing this.
Sorry, but compiling VLC is very difficult task.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

clive77
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Mar 2009 00:45

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby clive77 » 15 Mar 2009 03:26

Sorry, but compiling VLC is very difficult task.
How about for someone who knows what he is doing and has all the files installed and ready to go. Would that be 5 mins? In that case, I would kindly ask any member of the forum to consider compiling a version without the cone logo in the "Minimal View" interface. That would probably just require modifying an image file and recompiling the program (again, if that compiling if not too much work, of course...).

clive77

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby VLC_help » 15 Mar 2009 10:11

In my Windows Vista environment it takes over 2 hours to compile VLC from scratch. And better option might be a trac ticket for this, in case someone else also need VLC without any cone icons.

clive77
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Mar 2009 00:45

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby clive77 » 15 Mar 2009 15:39

Thanks VLC_help

1) Removing VLC logo while in “Minimal View” mode

Oh, I see. I thought that it might be quite fast and simple to recompile VLC for someone who was already set up to go. In that case, I wouldn’t mind to “Trac ticket” this, but how do I go about to do this? I have looked at some information pages at http://trac.videolan.org/vlc, but I still don’t understand how to add a simple ticket for this issue.

2) Setting loop A to B with command line

In another thread, you suggest adding vlc://quit to the playlist to kill a VLC process. Is there an instruction that I could put in the play list so that it would set time A and B for the looping of a movie?

Of course, this is linked to the first question since if I could set A to B with the command line (this is not possible) or the play list, I could avoid the VLC logo showing up between loops of a single movie being played from A to B.

Thanks again

clive77

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 15 Mar 2009 16:32

In my Windows Vista environment it takes over 2 hours to compile VLC from scratch. And better option might be a trac ticket for this, in case someone else also need VLC without any cone icons.
Unfortunately, I will object any commit to change the VLC logo... We have enough issues with people copying and distributing VLC illegally that I am not going to help them.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

clive77
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Mar 2009 00:45

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby clive77 » 15 Mar 2009 16:58

In my Windows Vista environment it takes over 2 hours to compile VLC from scratch. And better option might be a trac ticket for this, in case someone else also need VLC without any cone icons.
Unfortunately, I will object any commit to change the VLC logo... We have enough issues with people copying and distributing VLC illegally that I am not going to help them.
Hi j-b,

I am not aware of all the ungoing issues with VLC as I am just starting to use it myself. Please understand that this is all pretty much a black box for me. So, what do you mean exactly. Do you mean that posting a ticket will be refused? Do you mean that you are not allowing anyone to openly work, with the help of the community, on creating a version of VLC where the cone logo in the "Minimal View" window would not be shown? I am not asking so to challenge anyone on this, I am just trying to understand the issue and avoid any conflict with you or anyone else.

Thanks for clarifying your objection.

clive77

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 15 Mar 2009 17:21

In my Windows Vista environment it takes over 2 hours to compile VLC from scratch. And better option might be a trac ticket for this, in case someone else also need VLC without any cone icons.
Unfortunately, I will object any commit to change the VLC logo... We have enough issues with people copying and distributing VLC illegally that I am not going to help them.
Hi j-b,

I am not aware of all the ungoing issues with VLC as I am just starting to use it myself. Please understand that this is all pretty much a black box for me. So, what do you mean exactly. Do you mean that posting a ticket will be refused? Do you mean that you are not allowing anyone to openly work, with the help of the community, on creating a version of VLC where the cone logo in the "Minimal View" window would not be shown? I am not asking so to challenge anyone on this, I am just trying to understand the issue and avoid any conflict with you or anyone else.

Thanks for clarifying your objection.

clive77
What I just say, is I will object any modification in the official tree of VLC, that would change the cone logo to something else.
You can do your own version of VLC, and put any logo you want. However, I am not going to help people change the logo on the normal VLC, because we have enough issues with GPL violations.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

BluePhoenix
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Mar 2009 20:54

Re: Command line - Remove VLC logo and set loop A to B

Postby BluePhoenix » 16 Mar 2009 03:46

I`ve got a question regarding the cone: what happened to the blue nightlies cone in the nightlies? I miss it...somehow ;)

PS: shame on you...ugly gpl-violators! :(


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 88 guests