How do i get current position of streaming media?

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 04 Nov 2008 07:48

when i receive streaming media from vod videolan, the position slider does not updates itself. is it possible to get current media position from the client? what about using vlc external api?

my server command line is

Code: Select all

vlc.exe -vvv --vlm-conf D:\server.vlm --rtsp-host 127.0.0.1:554
the content of server.vlm is

Code: Select all

new media vod enabled setup media input "D:\Media.mov "
the client command line is

Code: Select all

vlc.exe rtsp://localhost:554/media
media file is a quicktime movie trailer available from apple.com

the session runs fine except the client position slider does not updates itself. but when i change the slider, the streaming starts from the slider position. this does not happen in 0.8.6i.

thanks.
Last edited by publicENEMY on 18 Nov 2008 09:35, edited 1 time in total.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby VLC_help » 04 Nov 2008 13:27

You get any errors/warnings in messages?

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 05 Nov 2008 05:32

server

Code: Select all

vlc.exe -vvv --vlm-conf D:\vlc\vlc-0.9.4\boltserver.vlm --rtsp-host 127.0.0.1:554
server.vlm

Code: Select all

new bolt-5 vod enabled setup bolt-5 input "D:\Media\bolt-tlr1_1080p.mov "
client

Code: Select all

vlc.exe rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5 :rtsp-caching=8000 :start-time=30
client log

Code: Select all

main debug: starting new item main debug: processing request item rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5 node Playlist skip 0 main debug: resyncing on rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5 main debug: rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5 is at 0 main debug: creating new input thread main debug: Creating an input for 'rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5' main debug: waiting for thread initialization main debug: thread started main debug: `rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5' gives access `rtsp' demux `' path `localhost:554/bolt-5' main debug: thread 13636 (input) created at priority 1 (input/input.c:370) main debug: creating demux: access='rtsp' demux='' path='localhost:554/bolt-5' qt4 debug: Updating the stream status: 3 main debug: looking for access_demux module: 1 candidate live555 debug: RTP subsession 'video/H264' main debug: selecting program id=0 qt4 debug: New Event: type 1108 live555 debug: RTP subsession 'audio/MPEG4-GENERIC' live555 debug: setup start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: We have a timeout of 60 seconds main debug: waiting for thread initialization main debug: thread started main debug: thread 14380 (liveMedia-timeout) created at priority 0 (live555.cpp:1054) live555 debug: spawned timeout thread live555 debug: play start: 0 stop:0 main debug: using access_demux module "live555" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 188.000 ms - Total 188.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 188.000 ms) main debug: starting at time: 30s main debug: looking for a subtitle file in D:\vlc\vlc-0.9.4\ main debug: looking for decoder module: 34 candidates avcodec debug: libavcodec already initialized avcodec debug: ffmpeg codec (H264 - MPEG-4 AVC (part 10)) started main debug: using decoder module "avcodec" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 2.000 ms - Total 2.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 2.000 ms) main debug: looking for packetizer module: 18 candidates packetizer_h264 debug: found NAL_SPS (sps_id=0) main debug: using packetizer module "packetizer_h264" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main debug: thread 14308 (decoder) created at priority 0 (input/decoder.c:217) main debug: looking for decoder module: 34 candidates main debug: thread started main debug: using decoder module "faad" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main debug: thread 14280 (decoder) created at priority 2 (input/decoder.c:217) main debug: `rtsp://localhost:554/bolt-5' successfully opened qt4 debug: New Event: type 1103 main debug: thread started qt4 debug: Updating the stream status: 3 main debug: control type=7 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 main debug: control type=1 packetizer_h264 warning: waiting for SPS/PPS faad warning: decoded zero sample main debug: no aout present, spawning one main debug: looking for audio output module: 3 candidates aout_directx debug: OpenAudio aout_directx debug: found device: Primary Sound Driver aout_directx debug: found device: SigmaTel Audio aout_directx debug: device supports 5.1 channels aout_directx debug: device supports 4 channels aout_directx debug: device supports 2 channels aout_directx debug: device supports 1 channel aout_directx debug: Windows says your SpeakerConfig is stereo aout_directx debug: creating DirectSoundThread main debug: thread 14504 (DirectSound Notification Thread) created at priority 15 (directx.c:392) main debug: using audio output module "aout_directx" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 13.000 ms - Total 13.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 13.000 ms) main debug: thread started aout_directx debug: DirectSoundThread ready main debug: output 's16l' 48000 Hz Stereo frame=1 samples/4 bytes main debug: mixer 'fl32' 48000 Hz Stereo frame=1 samples/8 bytes main debug: filter(s) 'fl32'->'s16l' 48000 Hz->48000 Hz Stereo->Stereo main debug: looking for audio filter module: 24 candidates main debug: using audio filter module "converter_float" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main debug: found a filter for the whole conversion main debug: looking for audio mixer module: 3 candidates main debug: using audio mixer module "float32_mixer" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main debug: input 'fl32' 48000 Hz 3F2R/LFE frame=1 samples/24 bytes main debug: filter(s) 'fl32'->'fl32' 48000 Hz->48000 Hz 3F2R/LFE->Stereo main debug: looking for audio filter module: 24 candidates main debug: using audio filter module "simple_channel_mixer" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main debug: found a filter for the whole conversion main debug: filter(s) 'fl32'->'fl32' 52800 Hz->48000 Hz Stereo->Stereo main debug: looking for audio filter module: 24 candidates main debug: using audio filter module "bandlimited_resampler" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 1.000 ms - Total 1.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 1.000 ms) main debug: found a filter for the whole conversion main debug: End of audio preroll packetizer_h264 warning: waiting for SPS/PPS packetizer_h264 debug: found NAL_PPS (pps_id=0 sps_id=0) main debug: no usable vout present, spawning one main debug: window size: 1920x1056 main debug: looking for video output module: 6 candidates vout_directx debug: creating DirectXEventThread main debug: waiting for thread initialization main debug: thread started vout_directx debug: DirectXCreateWindow main debug: looking for vout window module: 2 candidates qt4 debug: waiting for interface... qt4 debug: requesting window... qt4 debug: Video was requested -1, -1 qt4 debug: Video is resizing to: 1920 1056 qt4 debug: Qt FS: Attaching Vout qt4 debug: Qt: Changing Fullscreen Mode main debug: using vout window module "qt4" qt4 debug: Updating the geometry main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) vout_directx debug: created video sub-window main debug: thread 14576 (Vout Events Thread) created at priority 0 (directx.c:281) vout_directx debug: Vout EventThread running vout_directx debug: DirectXInitDDraw vout_directx debug: directx-device: vout_directx debug: DirectXEnumCallback: Primary Display Driver, display vout_directx debug: DirectXEnumCallback: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT , \\.\DISPLAY1 vout_directx debug: DirectXEnumCallback: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT , \\.\DISPLAY2 vout_directx debug: selecting NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT , \\.\DISPLAY2 vout_directx debug: screen dimensions (1280x0,2560x800) vout_directx debug: DirectDraw Capabilities: overlay=1 yuvoverlay=1 can_deinterlace_overlay=1 colorkey=1 stretch=1 bltfourcc=1 vout_directx debug: align_boundary_src=0,0 align_boundary_dest=1,1 align_size_src=0,0 align_size_dest=0,0 vout_directx debug: End DirectXInitDDraw vout_directx debug: DirectXCreateDisplay vout_directx debug: DirectXCreateClipper vout_directx debug: disabling screen saver main debug: using video output module "vout_directx" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 43.000 ms - Total 43.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 43.000 ms) main debug: waiting for thread initialization main debug: thread started vout_directx debug: NewPictureVec overlay:yes chroma:YV12 vout_directx debug: YUV overlay created successfully vout_directx debug: End NewPictureVec (succeeded) main debug: got 1 direct buffer(s) main debug: picture in 1920x1056 (0,0,1920x1056), chroma I420, ar 130909:72000, sar 1:1 main debug: picture user 1920x1056 (0,0,1920x1056), chroma I420, ar 130909:72000, sar 1:1 main debug: picture out 1920x1056 (0,0,1920x1056), chroma I420, ar 130909:72000, sar 1:1 main debug: direct render, mapping render pictures 0-6 to system pictures 1-7 main debug: thread 13768 (video output) created at priority 1 (video_output/video_output.c:504) main debug: End of video preroll qt4 debug: New Event: type 1109 main debug: looking for text renderer module: 2 candidates main debug: thread 13960 (fontlist builder) created at priority 0 (freetype.c:477) freetype debug: using fontsize: 66 main debug: using text renderer module "freetype" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 2.000 ms - Total 2.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 2.000 ms) freetype debug: using fontsize: 66 main debug: looking for video blending module: 1 candidate blend debug: chroma: YUVA -> I420 main debug: using video blending module "blend" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main debug: thread started freetype debug: Building font database... freetype debug: Finished building font database. freetype debug: Took 0 seconds main debug: thread ended live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main warning: PTS is out of range (2412382654), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (203695), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (182362), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (161029), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (139696), dropping buffer main warning: buffer is 118363 late, triggering upsampling main warning: resampling stopped after 17274000 usec (drift: 14445) main warning: buffer is 40630 in advance, triggering downsampling main warning: resampling stopped after 6302000 usec (drift: -12776)
client log after reposition

Code: Select all

main debug: control type=5 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: control type=5 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: control type=5 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: control type=5 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: control type=5 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: control type=5 main warning: vout warning: early picture skipped (1225914000192291) live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: control type=5 live555 debug: seek start: 0 stop:0 live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() live555 debug: tk->rtpSource->hasBeenSynchronizedUsingRTCP() main debug: End of audio preroll main debug: End of video preroll live555 debug: reset the timeout timer live555 debug: lost 993 bytes live555 debug: increasing buffer size to 131072 live555 warning: unsupported NAL type for H264 main warning: computed PTS is out of range (7257105), clearing out main warning: output PTS is out of range (7271313), clearing out main debug: audio output is starving (368417), playing silence main warning: PTS is out of range (2485031983), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2485011650), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484990317), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484968984), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484948651), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484927318), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484906985), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484885652), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2484865319), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (-136348), clearing out main warning: mixer start isn't output start (-62853) main debug: audio output is starving (182681), playing silence main warning: PTS is out of range (2483973714), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2483953381), dropping buffer main warning: PTS is out of range (2483932048), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (191416), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (170062), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (148750), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (127417), dropping buffer main warning: buffer is 106063 late, triggering upsampling main warning: audio drift is too big (120192), dropping buffer main warning: audio drift is too big (120236), dropping buffer
thanks. if the client is 0.8.6i, the position slider is updated. but 0.8.6i have some problem with h.264 streaming.

thanks.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby VLC_help » 05 Nov 2008 14:07

Same happens if you skins interface with 0.9.4?

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 05 Nov 2008 16:33

Same happens if you skins interface with 0.9.4?
Err... Im not using any skins. Just plain qt interface of 0.9.4.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby VLC_help » 06 Nov 2008 16:10

I meant if you could test it. If the same issue bothers skins, the problem lies deeper. If it is just QT4 issue, then it is just a QT4 issue :D

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 07 Nov 2008 05:13

I meant if you could test it. If the same issue bothers skins, the problem lies deeper. If it is just QT4 issue, then it is just a QT4 issue :D
Owh... Okay. Ill try that.

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 07 Nov 2008 05:47

tried with skins in 0.9.4. the position still doesnt update itself.

thanks.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby VLC_help » 07 Nov 2008 18:57

Confirmed. trac ticket opened.
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/2271

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 18 Nov 2008 09:45

Since i cannot get the position of streaming media, can i get other realted information as well? such as time, number of frames etc?

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 18 Nov 2008 09:49

From the ticket information, courmisch mentioned
AFAIK, the server does not provide the duration infos, and the client cannot update the slider if it does not know the total length. This is not a bug, is it?
and the ticket is closed.

The thing that bothers me is that it used to work. How can it is not a bug? By the way, time info cannot be capture. how about frames info?

Thanks.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby VLC_help » 18 Nov 2008 15:34

It is not bug, if there has been documented change to the default behavior. I can create new feature ticket if you want this feature back.

publicENEMY
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 104
Joined: 14 May 2007 05:04
Location: Malaysia

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby publicENEMY » 19 Nov 2008 08:29

Thank you.

I would like to have the features back. That would help a lot in VOD situation. Please bring it back.

Thank you.

kokachev
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Jul 2010 02:14

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby kokachev » 07 Jul 2010 02:28

Dear all.
Let me escalate this issue once again, because it's definitely bug.
There are two problems with it:
1. Webplugin: VLC correctly receives media duration data from VOD server and I see correct duration calling vlc.input.length , but all JS calls to retrieve current position (vlc.input.time, vlc.input.position) return 0.
2. VLC player: Position slider does not update it's position, while repositioning perfectly works. VLC does know media duration, because I see it in low right corner in VLC window.

In logs:
live555 debug: setup start: 0.000000 stop:382.000000
382 - it's correct media duration in seconds.

I use VLC 1.1.0 on Win7 and webplugin(both Mozilla and ActiveX).

Please, help. I could provide any info/logs, if somebody need it.

superware
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 11
Joined: 17 Aug 2010 08:38

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby superware » 13 Sep 2010 09:58

Hi kokachev, any luck with the vod position-zero problem?

Christoph904
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 05 Nov 2010 22:04

Re: How do i get current position of streaming media?

Postby Christoph904 » 10 Nov 2010 07:42

hi,

can you please give me an example how repositioning is working for u
because for me its not working .... posted here: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=84108&start=0#p277877

please let me know, thx


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests