scale/height/width doesn't work

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
ju^ju
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jan 2007 09:50

scale/height/width doesn't work

Postby ju^ju » 14 Mar 2007 13:36

Hi!

I tried to transcode a video stream and resize it, but it does not work, the resolution stays the same
I used:

Code: Select all

'#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=128,height=600,width=800}'
or

Code: Select all

'#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=128,scale=2}'
but none of these seem to work... what am I doing wrong?

drudolf
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Mar 2007 15:04

Postby drudolf » 14 Mar 2007 13:46

which version of videolan do you use actually?

when i compiled 0.9.0 from source i had the same problem because of swscaler enabled in ffmpeg. i think the problem is related to the bug ticket #1043.

i could get width and height working using ffmpeg without swscaler, i think the needed filters right now are missing in vlc for the swscaler.

ju^ju
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jan 2007 09:50

Postby ju^ju » 14 Mar 2007 13:51

I'm using 0.9.0 ;) How do I disable swscaler (and what is it?)

drudolf
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Mar 2007 15:04

Postby drudolf » 14 Mar 2007 16:46

compile ffmpeg from source without the option "--enable-swscaler"

my config options:

Code: Select all

./configure --enable-gpl --enable-pp --enable-pthreads --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libfaac
for the newest ffmpeg from svn and for vlc:

Code: Select all

./configure --prefix=/usr --with-ffmpeg-tree=/path/to/new/ffmpeg [--enable-other-options] ...
add the options u need, change "--with-ffmpeg-tree=/path/to/new/ffmpeg" to ur ffmpeg build and u should be able to resize transcoding video, i hope so :D

ju^ju
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jan 2007 09:50

Postby ju^ju » 14 Mar 2007 17:49

Thanks, but I'm using 0.8.6a now and everything works fine ;)


Return to “VLC stream-output (sout)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests