Page 1 of 1
vlm independent sub-filter options
Posted: 21 Mar 2006 08:26
by Albert
Hello,
I am missing support for independent sub-filter options in VLM.
E.g. I need to play/stream/save several video inputs with independet marq and time sub-filters: 1st camera: Outdoor/12:20:22, 2nd camera Garden/21-3-2006 etc.
Now I have to use batch scripts with vlc .... --time-position --marq-marquee ... to run several vlc.
Some of the options (usable as
ption=X also) are supported by VLM and other are not.
I think that setting everything from one VLM file is a great idea, but for me it is now inapplicable.
Thank you
Albert
Posted: 21 Mar 2006 17:56
by zorglub
Hello,
That's quite strange, VLM should support all options. Could you please be more specific about what isn't supported by VLM ?
independent sub-filter options
Posted: 22 Mar 2006 08:17
by Albert
Hello,
see
viewtopic.php?t=18369 please.
I am interrested mainly in these:
setup cam1 option marq-marquee="Garden"
setup cam1 option time-position=9
setup cam1 option sub-filter=time:marq can be set as #transcode{sfilter...}
http or telnet intf says "command succesfull", but it is not applied.
In general, I think support for independent sub-filter options in VLM is a good feature.
Albert
VLM and general options
Posted: 04 Apr 2006 10:55
by Albert
Hello,
is here a way how to use general options in VLM?
These I am not able to use with VLM and I would like to:
Code: Select all
--extraintf http:rc
--no-audio
--time-position=9
--marq-marquee=hello_world
Thank you
Albert
Posted: 04 Apr 2006 18:16
by dionoea
that's not possible. It might be possible to change those through the http interface rpn functions.
rpn
Posted: 06 Apr 2006 14:11
by Albert
Hello,
I tried this
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1=" 'marq-marquee' url_extract 'local' swap store" />
and
but this doesn't work.
I know there is
var_Set( p_input->p_libvlc, "marq-marquee", val ); but I don't know how to use it
Any suggestion how to set these variables by http intf?
Thank you
Albert
Posted: 06 Apr 2006 18:55
by dionoea
try using the "vlc_var_set" rpn function. (You need to set it on the appropriate object, VLC_OBJECT_ROOT if it's the libvlc object)
rpn vlc_var_set
Posted: 07 Apr 2006 10:50
by Albert
Hello,
I don´t understand RPN things :´(
I read Appendix B and I understand, that if I had
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1=" 'marqmarquee' url_extract 'mymarq' swap store" />
...html?marqmarquee=hello
variable marqmarquee 'hello' should be extracted from URL and saved to the variable mymarq (?).
As you wrote to use vlc_var_set function - I don´t know how. It is not written in appendix and not clear from examples (vlc_var_set : sets variable ST(2) of object ST(1) to ST(3) or ./requests/status.xml...???).
I suppose this:
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1="'marqmarquee' url_extract 'marqmarquee' vlc_var_set(VLC_OBJECT_ROOT,"marq-marquee",'marqmarquee') store " />
...html?marqmarquee=hello
I tried to add some ( ) , ' " but no effect.
Could you please recommend me some other knowledge source about RPN?
Thank you
Albert
P.S. I don`t know the object...
modules/control/rc.c:388: var_Create( p_intf, "marq-marquee", VLC_VAR_VOID | VLC_VAR_ISCOMMAND );
????
Posted: 07 Apr 2006 16:19
by dionoea
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' VLC_OBJECT_ROOT vlc_var_set" />
vlc_var_set
Posted: 10 Apr 2006 09:40
by Albert
Hello,
I have tried this allready, it doesn`t work:
Code: Select all
http warning: vlc_var_set called without an object
Albert
Posted: 10 Apr 2006 22:41
by dionoea
And this ?
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' 'VLC_OBJECT_ROOT' vlc_var_set" />
vlc_var_set
Posted: 11 Apr 2006 15:24
by Albert
Hello,
As I wrote, I tried many variations with " and ' and (). The code you posted previously should work, I suppose, but again
Code: Select all
http warning: vlc_var_set called without an object
If I change object to e.g. 'VLC_OBJECT_INTF' (or without ' '):
http warning: invalid VLC_OBJECT_INTF variable type 0 (marq-marquee)
http debug: invalid index constructor (el.instances)
So may be there is a problem with getting variable from URL...
Albert
next try
Posted: 21 Apr 2006 09:28
by Albert
Hello,
vlc rpn is satisfied by double quoted OBJECT:
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' "VLC_OBJECT_ROOT" vlc_var_set" />
No warning like http warning: vlc_var_set called without an object, but still doesn`t work.
Albert
Posted: 21 Apr 2006 09:37
by dionoea
Try other kinds of VLC objects
(they're listed in the doc) until one works. (remember that you have to activate the filter using --sub-filter marq before this takes any visible effect)
objects
Posted: 21 Apr 2006 09:47
by Albert
Hello,
I read
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/file/trunk ... ter/marq.c
and
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/file/trunk ... http/rpn.c
I have tried different objects previously and I am going to try them with doubled quotes.
Is there a way how to find which OBJECT marq-marquee belongs to?
I have enabled marq subfilter - I always see default "VLC" marq.
Albert
more object tested
Posted: 21 Apr 2006 10:11
by Albert
Hello,
I tried
Code: Select all
<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' "VLC_OBJECT_???" vlc_var_set" />
with
VLC_OBJECT_ROOT, ...VLC, ...INTF, ...PLAYLIST, ...INPUT, ...VOUT, ...SOUT without any success.
I have running HTTP intf and I am sending "command" in URL ...vlm.html?mymarq=hello before setting broadcast element, during playing, after stop playing and while playing again... Nothing happened, still "VLC" marq showed.
Albert
Posted: 21 Apr 2006 13:19
by dionoea
did you set --sub-filter=marq ?
marq
Posted: 21 Apr 2006 20:56
by Albert
Hello,
I don´t understand. As I wrote, I have set #transcode{sfilter=marq:time...} when playing and streaming webcam.
And I see all the time only default "VLC" text or text which I changed by GUI or in vlcrc file.
My aim is the possibility to change marq-marquee content independently for several VLM broadcast elements by http (rpn,...) intf.
Albert
Re: vlm independent sub-filter options
Posted: 24 Nov 2006 14:38
by fazer
Hello,
I re-activate this thread as I have exactly the same problem...
I use VLC 0.8.5 and need to display some messages (OSD_like) at anytime using http interface. I tried many different things with RPN functions, and specially some like the one used by Albert with no more success than him.
Actually, I get exactly the same error messages in the same situations. I also tried all known objects with vlc_var_set function with no more luck.
Does someone have some idea about this ?
Thanks in advance.