command line -> A better (Absolute) beginner’s guide

Feature requests for VLC.
T-buch
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

command line -> A better (Absolute) beginner’s guide

Postby T-buch » 05 Jun 2012 14:49

I guess many more features is able in the command line
Therefore I tried to understand this “VLC-1-1-x command-line help” http://wiki.videolan.org/VLC-1-1-x_command-line_help
But when you are a absolute beginner it is hard to understand

There should be a basic beginner (idiot, if you will) guide – I would like to offer to help writing it but of course I need to understand it first ;-)

What is the problem you might ask? Let me give you some examples from the guide “VLC-1-1-x command-line help”
Running the command
vlc --help
will create a .TXT file containnig all the command-line options
No it won’t – sorry to tell (I just get a message in my OS-language (Danish) which doesn’t make sense)

The first thing you can read about in the help/Guide for the command line feature is this:
Usage: vlc [options] [stream] ...
You can specify multiple streams on the commandline. They will be enqueued in the playlist.
The first item specified will be played first.
If you are a beginner it is very hard to find out what that means without an introductory explanation. Just as the first thing to write “Usage: vlc [options] [stream]” is a bit (or really to much) private in talk – and that is my point - cause a beginner is not consent to this jargon
And the talking about a “playlist”? Do beginners not start thinking about a conventional playlist of music or video tracks?

And the beginners continue frustrating if reading further – I do not want to bore you – but here are just a coupe examples from the next following lines of the Guide:
-option A single letter version of a global --option.
Stream MRL syntax
(What is MRL)
---
Also I will bang the drum for more examples – some basic examples and not like this:
% vlc -vvv input_stream --sout