vlm independent sub-filter options

Feature requests for VLC.
Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

vlm independent sub-filter options

Postby Albert » 21 Mar 2006 08:26

Hello,
I am missing support for independent sub-filter options in VLM.

E.g. I need to play/stream/save several video inputs with independet marq and time sub-filters: 1st camera: Outdoor/12:20:22, 2nd camera Garden/21-3-2006 etc.

Now I have to use batch scripts with vlc .... --time-position --marq-marquee ... to run several vlc.
Some of the options (usable as :option=X also) are supported by VLM and other are not.

I think that setting everything from one VLM file is a great idea, but for me it is now inapplicable.

Thank you
Albert

zorglub
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 482
Joined: 21 Nov 2003 02:53
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Postby zorglub » 21 Mar 2006 17:56

Hello,

That's quite strange, VLM should support all options. Could you please be more specific about what isn't supported by VLM ?
Zorglub
Clément Stenac

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

independent sub-filter options

Postby Albert » 22 Mar 2006 08:17

Hello,
see viewtopic.php?t=18369 please.

I am interrested mainly in these:

setup cam1 option marq-marquee="Garden"
setup cam1 option time-position=9

setup cam1 option sub-filter=time:marq can be set as #transcode{sfilter...}

http or telnet intf says "command succesfull", but it is not applied.

In general, I think support for independent sub-filter options in VLM is a good feature.

Albert

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

VLM and general options

Postby Albert » 04 Apr 2006 10:55

Hello,
is here a way how to use general options in VLM?

These I am not able to use with VLM and I would like to:

Code: Select all

--extraintf http:rc --no-audio --time-position=9 --marq-marquee=hello_world
Thank you
Albert

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 04 Apr 2006 18:16

that's not possible. It might be possible to change those through the http interface rpn functions.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

rpn

Postby Albert » 06 Apr 2006 14:11

Hello,
I tried this

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1=" 'marq-marquee' url_extract 'local' swap store" />
and

Code: Select all

...html?marq-marquee=hello
but this doesn't work.

I know there is var_Set( p_input->p_libvlc, "marq-marquee", val ); but I don't know how to use it :-(

Any suggestion how to set these variables by http intf?
Thank you
Albert

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 06 Apr 2006 18:55

try using the "vlc_var_set" rpn function. (You need to set it on the appropriate object, VLC_OBJECT_ROOT if it's the libvlc object)
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

rpn vlc_var_set

Postby Albert » 07 Apr 2006 10:50

Hello,
I don´t understand RPN things :´(
I read Appendix B and I understand, that if I had

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1=" 'marqmarquee' url_extract 'mymarq' swap store" /> ...html?marqmarquee=hello
variable marqmarquee 'hello' should be extracted from URL and saved to the variable mymarq (?).

As you wrote to use vlc_var_set function - I don´t know how. It is not written in appendix and not clear from examples (vlc_var_set : sets variable ST(2) of object ST(1) to ST(3) or ./requests/status.xml...???).
I suppose this:

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1="'marqmarquee' url_extract 'marqmarquee' vlc_var_set(VLC_OBJECT_ROOT,"marq-marquee",'marqmarquee') store " /> ...html?marqmarquee=hello

I tried to add some ( ) , ' " but no effect.

Could you please recommend me some other knowledge source about RPN?
Thank you
Albert

P.S. I don`t know the object...
modules/control/rc.c:388: var_Create( p_intf, "marq-marquee", VLC_VAR_VOID | VLC_VAR_ISCOMMAND );
????

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 07 Apr 2006 16:19

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' VLC_OBJECT_ROOT vlc_var_set" />
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

vlc_var_set

Postby Albert » 10 Apr 2006 09:40

Hello,
I have tried this allready, it doesn`t work:

Code: Select all

http warning: vlc_var_set called without an object
Albert

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 10 Apr 2006 22:41

And this ?

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' 'VLC_OBJECT_ROOT' vlc_var_set" />
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

vlc_var_set

Postby Albert » 11 Apr 2006 15:24

Hello,
As I wrote, I tried many variations with " and ' and (). The code you posted previously should work, I suppose, but again

Code: Select all

http warning: vlc_var_set called without an object
If I change object to e.g. 'VLC_OBJECT_INTF' (or without ' '):
http warning: invalid VLC_OBJECT_INTF variable type 0 (marq-marquee)
http debug: invalid index constructor (el.instances)

So may be there is a problem with getting variable from URL...

Albert

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

next try

Postby Albert » 21 Apr 2006 09:28

Hello,
vlc rpn is satisfied by double quoted OBJECT:

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' "VLC_OBJECT_ROOT" vlc_var_set" />
No warning like http warning: vlc_var_set called without an object, but still doesn`t work. :-(
Albert

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 21 Apr 2006 09:37

Try other kinds of VLC objects :) (they're listed in the doc) until one works. (remember that you have to activate the filter using --sub-filter marq before this takes any visible effect)
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

objects

Postby Albert » 21 Apr 2006 09:47

Hello,
I read http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/file/trunk ... ter/marq.c
and http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/file/trunk ... http/rpn.c

I have tried different objects previously and I am going to try them with doubled quotes.

Is there a way how to find which OBJECT marq-marquee belongs to?

I have enabled marq subfilter - I always see default "VLC" marq.
Albert

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

more object tested

Postby Albert » 21 Apr 2006 10:11

Hello,
I tried

Code: Select all

<vlc id="rpn" param1="'mymarq' url_extract 'marq-marquee' "VLC_OBJECT_???" vlc_var_set" />
with
VLC_OBJECT_ROOT, ...VLC, ...INTF, ...PLAYLIST, ...INPUT, ...VOUT, ...SOUT without any success.

I have running HTTP intf and I am sending "command" in URL ...vlm.html?mymarq=hello before setting broadcast element, during playing, after stop playing and while playing again... Nothing happened, still "VLC" marq showed.

Albert

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 21 Apr 2006 13:19

did you set --sub-filter=marq ?
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

Albert
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 102
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 08:17

marq

Postby Albert » 21 Apr 2006 20:56

Hello,
I don´t understand. As I wrote, I have set #transcode{sfilter=marq:time...} when playing and streaming webcam.
And I see all the time only default "VLC" text or text which I changed by GUI or in vlcrc file.
My aim is the possibility to change marq-marquee content independently for several VLM broadcast elements by http (rpn,...) intf.
Albert

fazer
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Nov 2006 14:30

Re: vlm independent sub-filter options

Postby fazer » 24 Nov 2006 14:38

Hello,

I re-activate this thread as I have exactly the same problem...
I use VLC 0.8.5 and need to display some messages (OSD_like) at anytime using http interface. I tried many different things with RPN functions, and specially some like the one used by Albert with no more success than him.
Actually, I get exactly the same error messages in the same situations. I also tried all known objects with vlc_var_set function with no more luck.

Does someone have some idea about this ?
Thanks in advance.


Return to “VLC media player Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests