"Copy Protection" feature in VLC player

Just have a drink and chat
taicharlie
New Cone
New Cone

"Copy Protection" feature in VLC player

Postby taicharlie » 07 Dec 2009 10:49

Hi! I am a newbie here. But I really need your help on this question.

We are evaluating using VLC as the built-in "portable" video player on a DVD which has preloaded video files.

We have some "copy protection/content security" mechanism on the DVD so these video files can only be play backed by the built-in player on the DVD.

But we seem face a dilemma here. In order for the "copy protection/content security" mechanism to work, we need to add some code in VLC.

But under the VLC’s GPL, we need to publish the whole source codes, including the "copy protection/content security" mechanism part, right?

Does this mean other developers can easily tweak the source codes and build a new player to bypass the decryption/content security?

taicharlie
New Cone
New Cone

Re: "Copy Protection" feature in VLC player

Postby taicharlie » 07 Dec 2009 10:53

Hi! I would like to quickly add something to clarify.

We are evaluating using VLC as the built-in "portable" video player on a DVD disc which has preloaded video files.

This DVD disc will work on PC and Mac. And we don't want users to copy all the video files to their hard drive and play backed these copied video using VLC player on their system.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 07 Dec 2009 16:11

Hi! I am a newbie here. But I really need your help on this question.

We are evaluating using VLC as the built-in "portable" video player on a DVD which has preloaded video files.

We have some "copy protection/content security" mechanism on the DVD so these video files can only be play backed by the built-in player on the DVD.