Page 1 of 1

determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 21 Dec 2009 03:43
by dmborn
Using the Windows GUI, I have streaming setup how I want it. Is there a way I can determine what the equivalent command line arguments are?

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 31 Dec 2009 03:41
by xoomxoom
Bump
Yes, I'd like to know how to do this as well. I googled it trying to find it and found this thread of someone asking the same question I'm trying to figure out!
Is there like a debug output or log or console viewer that will show you what commands vlc throws out when you use the GUI.
I need this basically as a learning tool, so I know how to emulate what I do in the GUI via the command prompt.

Thank you.

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 31 Dec 2009 10:38
by RĂ©mi Denis-Courmont
They're visible in the last tab of the wizard.

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 31 Dec 2009 20:44
by xoomxoom
I dont see it. Where is it?
I'm doing:
Media -> convert/save -> network tab -> click conver/save button -> choose MP3 profile -> then press start

I don't see any extra tabs or a place where it shows you what command line equivalent of all that is.

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 02 Jan 2010 16:42
by Papageno
In version 1.02 you can use the wizard output and copy it into your script. Don't forget to add " at the beginning and the end of options. I've used this to aquire a command line for streaming my webcam in the local network

E.g.
Generated Output Stream:

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=800,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:duplicate{dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=239.155.1.1:1234},dst=display}
must be in the script

Code: Select all

cvlc v4l2:///dev/video1:input-slave=alsa// :sout="#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=800,scale=1,acodec=mpga,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:duplicate{dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=239.155.1.4:1234},dst=display}"
Have luck
Hans

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 20:14
by xoomxoom
I'm on windows xp and using windows version of VLC 1.0.3 goldeneye
I don't see any wizard.

Image

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 07 Jan 2010 02:52
by Greg
OK
Consider the GUI as the 'wizard'
So you have the GUI set up as you want it?

Select Streaming in the Media menu
First screen/window
So check the box " Show more options" the "Edit options" box will display the input parameters. This is the first stage in the command line.
Then continue through with your GUI setup, The last screen/window in the streaming GUI will display the sout parameters, this is the final stage in the command line.

A look here may help

http://wiki.videolan.org/Documentation: ... e_Examples

You will need to use the syntax " Eg "<value>" in Windows

Re: determining command line from GUI config

Posted: 18 Jul 2011 14:44
by LatinSuD
No, i still cannot see the "sout" values.

I've filed a bug report.
https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/5086