Receiving and serving streams

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
nobbler
New Cone
New Cone

Receiving and serving streams

Postby nobbler » 23 Sep 2009 10:32

Hi guys,

I'm very new to VLC and am struggling with some basic concepts.
I have searched the board and read through the docs but it seems I might be expecting something of this app that it's not designed to do. Either that or I missed the boat alltogether.

Here is my setup:
- Webcam at home with very limited internet connection
- webcamxp software on windows XP handling the data feed from the camera.
- centOS 5 linux server on the web with lots of bandwidth.
- the linux box is command line ONLY so there is no GUI.

What I want to do:
I want the server on the CentOS server to sit there with a web page with a viewer embedded into it.

There will be three scenarios:
1) No users vanting to viw the webcam:
Nothing happens, my webcam does not transmit any data to the linux server.

2) One user viewing my webcam:
the VLC server requests data from my webcam and a SINGLE stream is pulled from my house. A SINGLE stream is then sent to the user viewing.

3) Multiple users viewing my webcam:
the VLC server requests data from my webcam and a SINGLE stream is pulled from my house. MULTIPLE streams are then sent, one to every user viewing.

Please advise if this is possible and if so how would I go about doing this.

Many Thanks

kdh
Cone that earned his stripes

Re: Receiving and serving streams

Postby kdh » 24 Sep 2009 01:45

im doing some pretty complicated stuff, but what i'm doing will do what you are doing.

i give some pretty good details in my thread and should give you some idea's and get you started.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=60947

just ignore the shoutcast parts and go from there. =)

hope that helps.

piskovic
New Cone
New Cone

Postby piskovic » 05 Oct 2009 15:29

hi all!