Page 1 of 1
Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 15 Jul 2009 10:25
by mathone
Hi everybody,
Sorry for my bad english, but I'm french...
So, I would like to stream on a network some TV chanel which come from DVB-T and DVB-S card (max 9) and I have some problem :
In first I don't know how I can stream that with a simple C++ code (QT creator) and when I use VLC, 5 instances of VLC, it's to much for my CPU.
Can I stream all my DVB cards with only one VLC?
Can I stream that without VLC or only one library in my C++ code?
I just want to stream all chanels, and no see on my computer.
I want also use IGMP because I have a Gbit network but I don't want to load it for nothing.
Thank you for yours answer,
Mathieu.
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 15 Jul 2009 11:37
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Do you transcode?
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 15 Jul 2009 13:08
by rh
Do you really want to stream ? IMHO its better to set this with VOD
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 15 Jul 2009 13:36
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
I disagree.
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 10:37
by MrLou
We do something similar with VLC under linux.
You'll probably need to have one instance of VLC for each stream you want to broadcast. As for CPU loading, I can't really tell you very much without knowing what hardware you're using, but we use Intel Xeon processors and have no problem serving 6 or evn 10 DVB streams. We don't transcode, we just pump out the MPEG TS from the card straight to the network.
So, to summarise, it's certainly possible but you might run into hardware limitations as the number of cards and amount of traffic increases.
Cheers,
Lou
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 11:31
by mathone
Thank you everybody for help,
I'm under linux (ubuntu V8.10, Kernel 2.6.29.4-ultimate, 2G ram, intel premium dual cpu 2.00GHz) , and I don't transcode, just stream all chanel :
My script used for stream :
#!/bin/sh
vlc -vvv --quiet --ttl 12 --intf dummy dvb:// --dvb-frequency=746167000 --dvb-adapter=0 --dvb-bandwidth=8 --programs 257,260,261,262,296 --sout='#duplicate{dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1235},select="program=257", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1238},select="program=260", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1239},select="program=261", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1240},select="program=262", dst=std{access=udp,dst=224.0.0.1:1236"},select="program=296"}'
And all my cards, I used the same things with an other adater and frequency.
I used 6 DVB card on PCI bus, and 3 on a firewire bus with a PCI expres converter.
When all my card are running, in first, its OK, but 30 minutes after, all my CPU and Memory are completly use...
What do you think about that?
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 12:05
by MrLou
What processes are using the CPU and memory, is it VLC, a driver task or something else?
What version of VLC are you using?
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 12:38
by mathone
8% for driver task and 15 - 20 % per each VLC (5 VLC => 100%)
Each VLC use 50 - 100 Mo, but somtimes one use 800 Mo,
I use VLC 0.9.4 Grishenko
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 12:56
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Well, use DVBlast for that.
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 13:35
by mathone
Ok why not, but have some help for use that please?
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 14:56
by mathone
I try to use it, I install it properly, but now I have some problem to use it.
for DVB-T, what I have to stream ? I try to put this line on my file .conf :
224.0.0.1:1234 1 746167000 257
and in my script is :
./dvblast -c ./test.conf -a 0 -b 8
but dvblast return me that :
dvblast error: restarting
dvblast debug: tuning OFDM frontend to f=0 bandwidth=8 modulation=qam_auto
dvblast error: setting frontend failed (Invalid argument)
Where is my error ?
I try also that, but its doesn't work too...
./dvblast -d 239.255.0.1:1234 -b 8 -f 746167000 -u 257
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 16 Jul 2009 18:55
by MrLou
You don't need the frequency in the conf file, the format is explained here:
http://svn.videolan.org/filedetails.php ... %2FINSTALL
Also, is the qam setting correct? The default is qam_auto but not all cards support auto setting.
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 17 Jul 2009 13:14
by mathone
Ok, thank you for your help, I had already read this file, and change my conf, but now, when I want to receive the chanel on a VNC, there is a very bad quality. where is the problem about you? is it the qam?
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 23 Jul 2009 15:50
by MrLou
I have the same problem, I don't think it's a configuration issue, I think it's a problem with dvblast.
Re: Streaming of 6 DVB card
Posted: 29 Jul 2009 03:41
by meatpopsicle
Hi MrLou,
Your setup is most impressive, I have been planning something similar at home for a while now. May I inquire as to the STB you are using and the PC mobo?
I have an old Cascade box and it does not seem to like the a52 (dolby?) audio. It works fine to another PC. There also seems to be a problem with starting streams. Sometimes it will packetise the a52 and sometimes not. When it does not packetise, it works on the STB.
I am in Melbourne, Australia and they have SD and HD content and would really like to know if the Amino STB can scale and decode both.
Meatpopsicle