Page 1 of 1

.bat file

Posted: 26 Jul 2008 12:13
by BonRouge
I'm streaming 2 videos, on a loop, to the Internet. Everything's working fine.
My question is how to have the stream start more quickly. I couldn't find a good way to save the settings, so I figured a .bat file might be a good way. I set up the streaming as usual and copied the parameters that were showing.
Here's what I came up with by copying some code I found elsewhere on the forums:

Code: Select all

cd C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC vlc [:sout=#transcode{vcodec=WMV1,vb=96,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=96,channels=1}:duplicate{dst=std{access=http,mux=asf,dst=:1234}}:sout-all] "C:\streams\big_vid_a.mpg" "C:\streams\big_vid_b.mpg"
This gives me this error:

Code: Select all

Unable to open '[:sout=#transcode{vcodec=WMV1,vb=96,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=96,channels=1}:duplicate{dst=std{access=http,mux=asf,dst=:1234}}'
The playlist has this as the first track:

Code: Select all

[:sout=#transcode{vcodec=WMV1,vb=96,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=96,channels=1}:duplicate{dst=std{access=http,mux=asf,dst=:1234}}
The video plays, but it plays locally too, which I don't need. I don't want to see the picture, I just need it to stream to the Internet.

I hope this is clear and I hope someone can point out what my problem is.

Thanks for any help.

Re: .bat file

Posted: 29 Jul 2008 10:51
by olegkirillov
Remove the square bracket.

Re: .bat file

Posted: 29 Jul 2008 14:43
by BonRouge
Thanks for the input.

I did what you said and got exactly the same results as before. :(

Re: .bat file

Posted: 29 Jul 2008 16:18
by olegkirillov
Excuse me, I should be more detailed. :)

Code: Select all

vlc --sout=#transcode{vcodec=WMV1,vb=96,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=96,channels=1}:duplicate{dst=std{access=http,mux=asf,dst=:1234}} --sout-all "C:\streams\big_vid_a.mpg" "C:\streams\big_vid_b.mpg"
I suppose vb=96 is too low, though.

Re: .bat file

Posted: 29 Jul 2008 17:50
by BonRouge
Thanks very much. That seems to do the job. :)

Maybe you could help me a little more... Are there any extra parameters I could add to close (or at least minimise) the CMD window and to minimise VLC?

Thanks again.

Re: .bat file

Posted: 29 Jul 2008 19:57
by olegkirillov
Put "START /MIN vlc" in your .bat file

Re: .bat file

Posted: 30 Jul 2008 01:02
by BonRouge
Thanks again. :)