Page 1 of 1

Using screen:// with multicast

Posted: 16 Oct 2006 21:56
by axiomx11
This looks like it should be possible, but I can't get it to work.

Multicast runs great

Code: Select all

vlc "EarlyLig2001.mpeg" :sout=#duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}
That displays both places as it should.

But when I try to run my screen over multicast:

Code: Select all

vlc screen:// :sout=#duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}
It only shows locally.

Should this work?

Posted: 17 Oct 2006 16:01
by dionoea
you need to encode the video

Code: Select all

--sout "#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=2048}:std{...blabla...}"

Posted: 17 Oct 2006 16:32
by axiomx11
I am pretty new to using VideoLAN on the commandline.

I tried:

Code: Select all

vlc screen:// :sout='#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=2048}:std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}'
But that just brings up a VLC player that does not apper to be broadcasting anything. If I click 'play' it will say 'screen' in the status bar for a split second, but then disapear and stop.

I tried this from the streaming docs:

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv screen:// --sout '#duplicate{dst=standard{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=239.255.1.2,sap,name="OriginalStream"}, dst="transcode{vcodec=mp4v,acodec=mpga,vb=800,ab=128}: standard{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=239.255.1.3,sap,name="TranscodedStream"}"}'
But I get the same result.

Surely I am close?

EDIT:
This command appears to be trying, but I am getting a black screen on the client VLC

Code: Select all

vlc screen:// --sout "#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=2048}: std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}"
EDIT AGAIN:

This command works, but is horrendously slow. Need to study bitrates.

Code: Select all

vlc screen:// --sout "#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,acodec=mpga,vb=800,ab=128}: std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}"

Posted: 17 Oct 2006 22:18
by dionoea
screen:// is kind of slow. You can change the number of fps it gets. --screen-fps i think.