Page 1 of 1

Streaming Bit Rate differs from settings.

Posted: 13 Feb 2006 06:49
by MaxOXO
Hi, i am streaming videos files to internet and bitrate in windows media player differs from bitrate in settings its about 500 kb/s (almost always when i use lowest bitrate in vlc)

And if i use setting that work for one video file e.g. 96 video and 16 it may not work for another .avi file so i got to increase it a bit or decrease so it'll not change output to 500 which is to high.
Why this happens?


In most cases it happens when i use this mrl:

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=WMV2,vb=16,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=16,channels=2}:duplicate{dst=std{access=mmsh,mux=asfh,url=:1234}}

Posted: 14 Feb 2006 18:05
by MaxOXO
Someone?

Posted: 12 Mar 2006 05:12
by MaxOXO
Can someone try and help me please?

Posted: 12 Mar 2006 14:59
by dionoea
Those bit rates are way too low to encode the video. You should try using scale=0.1 to change the scale and maybe change the frame rate using fps=<integer> in transcode.

version

Posted: 13 Mar 2006 11:31
by GioGiovane
16kbps is too low indeed.
But if you raise it up to 96kpbs it should work ok (even more reducing fps and scaling the size).

But, if you still have problems,
Why don't you make a try with version 0.8.1?

I got problems with version 0.8.4 streaming at the requested bit rate (see my forum topic "effective bit rate differs a lot from selected one", march 9th)

Posted: 15 Mar 2006 14:15
by abuze
I have the same problem and maybe wrote the question in the wrong forum thread: viewtopic.php?t=16851

I tried to use 0.8.1 as stated but VLC crashed when entering the commandline.

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv udp://@:5000 --sout="#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=96,fps=15,height=176,width=144,acodec=mp4a,ab=16,samplerate=16000,channels=1,audio-sync}:rtp{dst=127.0.0.1,port=24000,ttl=64,sdp=rtsp://192.168.0.4:8000/sample.sdp}"
Should the scale command do the trick instead of setting the bitrates?

My goal of this streaming is to see it in a cellphone over 3G network. Therefore I must not have more than 128kbit/s total streaming.

Any clues how to do it otherwise?

constant bitrate

Posted: 01 Apr 2006 02:00
by phomlish
I am working with Carnegie Mellon with their ESM broadcast software. They are trying to get me to use Windows Media Encoder because VLC will not keep the bitrate down to what I set it to. I just don't have 500! We need more like 400.

Has the cause of this been found? Please don't make me use Bill's stuff!

Paul Homlish