Page 1 of 1

Serving rtsp

Posted: 27 Mar 2013 04:44
by gregfr
I'm trying to setup rstp as a server ; from the documentation (http://wiki.videolan.org/Documentation: ... _HowTo/VLM), I tried:

Code: Select all

vlc --ttl 12 -vvv --color -I telnet --telnet-password videolan --rtsp-host 0.0.0.0 --rtsp-port 554
but vlc doesn't bind to 554, in fact whatever port number I provide, it doesn't bind. Even if I set a bogus or used port, nothing, not even an error message.

How do I trigger vlc to actually bind to the port???

TIA

greg

Re: Serving rtsp

Posted: 27 Mar 2013 04:48
by gregfr
PS: I tried VLC 2.0.5 on both ubuntu and windows

Re: Serving rtsp

Posted: 27 Mar 2013 04:57
by gregfr
I find this:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=107283

It seems it has to be a "vod" element, "broadcast" doesn't work?

Re: Serving rtsp

Posted: 27 Mar 2013 18:20
by RĂ©mi Denis-Courmont
Both should work. Most probably your system is configured to forbid applications listening to TCP ports.

Re: Serving rtsp

Posted: 28 Mar 2013 02:21
by gregfr
Probably not :)
My computer is very clever but not clever enough to allow "vod" and not "broadcast" ;) Firewalls are down on both OSes.
However maybe my understanding of "broadcast" is wrong. Although it's not explicit in the doc I read, it seems to be something like unicast or multicast. I'm thinking that because of the target IP (a server doesn't have a target IP):

Code: Select all

new channel2 broadcast enabled setup channel2 input udp://@239.255.12.42 setup channel2 output #rtp{mux=ts,dst=239.255.1.2,port=5004,sdp=sap://,name="Channel 2"}
Here the "dst" parameter is not a local bind address, is it?

My goal is to stream a live feed, so I guess "vod" is not the correct setting.

So what is the proper setting to serve a live feed?