Streaming Multiple Files Over RTSP Using Multiple Instances

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
hi_ajit
New Cone
New Cone

Streaming Multiple Files Over RTSP Using Multiple Instances

Postby hi_ajit » 06 Feb 2013 12:29

I am just getting started with VLC and am a complete newbie.
So there are many fundamentals that I am unaware of, please excuse that.

What am I using?
I am using VLC media player 2.0.5 Twoflower
In that, I am using the GUI for streaming files because I simply have zero knowledge of programming.

What have I achieved till now?
I have been successful in streaming a single file over RTSP by using the GUI of VLC.
I can connect to this rtsp live stream from multiple devices simultaneously without any problem whatsoever -- mobile phones, desktops, laptops

Now here's the situation:
I have about 8-10 files that are streaming simultaneously on my machine.
They are available on:
rtsp://myIP:8554/1.sdp, rtsp://myIP:8554/2.sdp, rtsp://myIP:8554/3.sdp... rtsp://myIP:8554/10.sdp

However, of all these streams, I am able to connect to just one of them. Am I missing something in the settings? It looks like a very basic step I am missing somewhere.

I do notice that the port 8554 is constant. When the ports are variable like 8554, 554, etc, I am able to connect to them simultaneously.

Is this something about unicast/multicast/broadcast? As I said above, I am unaware of a lot of fundamentals... Will appreciate if someone can take me through this...

mundu
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
VLC version: 2.1.5
Operating System: Linux

Re: Streaming Multiple Files Over RTSP Using Multiple Instan

Postby mundu » 06 Feb 2013 13:05

You will need to use VLM to stream several files in one VLC instance.

If you start several VLC instances you will bind only one process to 8554.

Use telnet server to connect and to load several movies if you want. Or use VLM conf.

Code: Select all