Page 1 of 1

First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 30 Jul 2012 19:19
by chadwixk
Hello,

I am trying to do some command line encoding and not getting very far.. Here is my command line:

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv --log-verbose=-1 --logfile="W:\_Downloaded\[ www.Speed.Cd ] - American.Chopper.Senior.vs.Junior.S03E08.720p.HDTV.x264-aAF\extracted\log.txt" --stop-time=30 "W:\_Downloaded\[ www.Speed.Cd ] - American.Chopper.Senior.vs.Junior.S03E08.720p.HDTV.x264-aAF\extracted\aaf-american.chopper.s03e08.mkv" --sout='#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=1024,acodec=mp4a,ab=192,scale=1,channels=6,deinterlace,audio-sync}:std{access=file,mux=ts,dst="W:\_Downloaded\[ www.Speed.Cd ] - American.Chopper.Senior.vs.Junior.S03E08.720p.HDTV.x264-aAF\extracted\aaf-american.chopper.s03e08.ps.mpg"}'
When I run it, VLC Player opens, but then nothing else happens. If I open the log file, this is all I see:

Code: Select all

-- logger module started -- main debug: using interface module "logger" main debug: TIMER module_need() : 310.965 ms - Total 310.965 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 310.965 ms)
Earlier, I had some issues with paths, and that popped up the error window in VLC right after it opened. But now, nothing.

I appreciate any pointers in how to get this to work.

Thanks in Advance,
Chad

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 31 Jul 2012 01:06
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
remove --log-verbose=-1

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 31 Jul 2012 04:43
by chadwixk
Hello Jean,

Thanks for the reply. I didn't originally have that in there, but put it in as a result of this issue in hopes of gleaning some sort of information. Anyway I removed it and attempted to run it again, and the same thing happens, which is nothing. The command line session doesn't get a result back...it seems as though it submitted the process but then is waiting for something to return that never does. Again the log file is empty, and I don't see any processes related this running in the Task Manager.

ANy other ideas? It does convert from the wizard, so I know the conversion itself works ok, I just can't get it to launch from the command prompt.


*Note I am running on Windows 7 Pro and VLC 2.0.1)

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 31 Jul 2012 15:59
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Look at the messages logs.

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 01 Aug 2012 18:45
by chadwixk
Well, I figured it out. I just had some extra single quotes around the --sout parameters...picked up somewhere from a copy and paste I guess. It is working now, though even though the log file parameter is set, it doesn't write anything to it.

Here's my corresponding command line:

Code: Select all

vlc -I dummy --logfile="T:\log.txt" --stop-time=30 "T:\aaf-american.chopper.s03e08.mkv" --sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=10000,acodec=mp4a,ab=256,scale=1,channels=6,deinterlace,audio-sync}:std{access=file,mux=ts,dst="T:\aaf-american.chopper.s03e08.ps.mp4"} vlc://quit
Do I need to do anything more in order to get it to write to the log file?

Thanks for the help!
Chad

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 01 Aug 2012 22:42
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
-vvv

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 20 Aug 2013 00:59
by chadwixk
I was never able to get the logfiles to write, which was fine because things were converting properly. But now I have converted to Windows 8 and running VLC 2.0.8 (Aug 16 build), and I am having issues where there is no audio in the resulting file. As such, I was trying to capture the logs to see what the issue is, but with no luck:

Code: Select all

vlc -I dummy -vvv --logfile="C:\VLC_Log.txt" --stop-time=30 "%srcfilepath%" --sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=2048,acodec=mp4a,ab=256,scale=1,channels=2,deinterlace,audio-sync}:std{access=file,mux=ts,dst=%dstfilepath%} vlc://quit
1.) how do you get the logfile to write via command line?
2.) any ideas on why there is no audio in the converted file?

Thanks in advance,
Chad

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 20 Aug 2013 10:58
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
--extraintf logger

Re: First time command line encoding help?

Posted: 20 Aug 2013 18:47
by chadwixk
Thanks Jean. That worked! Now I have to fix the No Audio issue, but will create a new forum post for that.