Fail to use duplicate and transcode at the same time

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
johnnyauyeung
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Jun 2011 05:13

Fail to use duplicate and transcode at the same time

Postby johnnyauyeung » 18 Jun 2011 05:24

I've a problem in using duplicate and transcode at the same time with vlc 1.1.5, 1.1.9 and 1.1.10.
I think there may be something wrong with my command. I tried those example I found from Internet
but none of them worked.

I can duplicate a stream to two different multicast stream by using this command line:
vlc input_stream :sout=#duplicate{dst=udp{dst=239.1.1.1:1234},dst=udp{dst=239.1.1.2:1234}} :ttl=2 :sout-keep

I can transcode a stream to half side multicast stream by using this command line:
vlc input_stream :sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=0,scale=0.5}:udp{dst=239.1.1.1:1234} :ttl=2 :sout-keep

However, when I try to send a stream with originial size and have a transcoded stream at the same time by using the
following command, it will not work.
vlc input_stream :sout=#duplicate{dst=transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=0,scale=0.5}:udp{dst=239.1.1.1:1234},dst=udp{dst=239.1.1.2:1234}} :ttl=2 :sout-keep

bartfartagain
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Oct 2011 06:48

Re: Fail to use duplicate and transcode at the same time

Postby bartfartagain » 23 Oct 2011 07:29

I've been fighting with this as well. I've tried two methods:
:sout=#rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8554/800}:duplicate{dst=transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=300,fps=12,scale=0.5,acodec=mp4a,ab=64,channels=2,samplerate=22050}:rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8554/300}}
With this method I get the first rtsp stream just fine but the message output shows:
stream_out_duplicate debug: creating 'duplicate'
stream_out_duplicate debug: * adding `transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=300,fps=12,scale=0.5,acodec=mp4a,ab=64,channels=2,samplerate=22050}'
main debug: stream=`transcode'
main debug: looking for sout stream module: 1 candidate
stream_out_transcode error: cannot create chain
main debug: no sout stream module matching "transcode" could be loaded
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 0.381 ms - Total 0.381 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.381 ms)
main debug: destroying chain... (name=(null))
main debug: destroying chain done
stream_out_duplicate error: * ignore unknown option `rtp'
stream_out_duplicate error: no destination given
main debug: no sout stream module matching "duplicate" could be loaded

:sout=#duplicate{dst=rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8554/800},dst=transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=300,fps=12,scale=0.5,acodec=mp4a,ab=64,channels=2,samplerate=22050}:rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8554/300}}
With this method the first rtsp stream is duplicated and streamed just fine but there is no message output at all about the other destination. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
It seems that the transcode module doesn't work when called as a destination of the duplicate module. I can successfully duplicate to multiple rtp destinations but I need to transcode the second, third and so on to lower resolution, fps and data rate before streaming. The documentation indicates this is possible and even provides examples, but none of them work for 1.1.5, 1.1.9, 1.1.10, 1.1.11 or even the nightly builds. Seems broke to me based on the other comments.

beminoz
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Jan 2012 14:06

Re: Fail to use duplicate and transcode at the same time

Postby beminoz » 09 Jan 2012 14:21

Try like this, it worked.. { } ;)

:sout=#duplicate{dst=rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8554/800},dst={transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=300,fps=12,scale=0.5,acodec=mp4a,ab=64,channels=2,samplerate=22050}:rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8554/300}}}

mirzaaaamir
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Mar 2012 12:29

Re: Fail to use duplicate and transcode at the same time

Postby mirzaaaamir » 29 Mar 2012 10:25

Hi, beminoz

Could you please help me, How could I achieve 2 different transcoded sdp from one single INPUT ?

BR


Return to “VLC stream-output (sout)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests