Page 1 of 1

how to trim modules

Posted: 27 Feb 2013 03:37
by jerryYoung
How to disable all modules that is not used in my vlc?
I modify vlc/android/configure.sh like this:
--disable-plugins \
--enable-avformat \
--enable-swscale \
...
But it is not work.

I only need a simple function of playing http live streaming(h264+aac).
But the size of libvlcjni.so is too large for me.
How could I get a smallest size libvlcjni.so.
thanks!

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 27 Feb 2013 06:53
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
--disable-plugins means nothing and does not exist in configure. You should disable the rest of the configure part and you should make the ffmpeg compilation only compile H264.

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 28 Feb 2013 22:16
by edwardw
In addition, disable a lot of contrib modules that you do not intend to use. This will reduce the amount of statically-linked libs.

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 05 Mar 2013 03:21
by jerryYoung
Thank you,I make the ffmpeg compilation only compile H264,then the size of libvlcjni.so is smaller!(12M-->9M)
I disable the rest of the configure part in configure.sh,onlye enable these option, the size is from 9M to 5.9M. is there other plugins that can be disabled?
#only enable these plugins:
--enable-freetype \
--enable-avformat \
--enable-swscale \
--enable-avcodec \
--enable-opus \
--enable-opensles \
--enable-android-surface \
--enable-dvbpsi \
--enable-libass \
#disable the rest of unused plugins,about 150 plugins
--disable-XXX\
...


By the way,how to "make clean" vlc? to make sure it rebuild I need delete vlc directory and it take too long time to re-download ):

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 05 Mar 2013 03:26
by edwardw
Run

Code: Select all

source env.sh
. This will incorporate environment variables for VLC Android into your shell. From there, just cd vlc/android and make to rebuild.

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 23 Sep 2014 17:46
by tylerjroach
--disable-plugins means nothing and does not exist in configure. You should disable the rest of the configure part and you should make the ffmpeg compilation only compile H264.

What file do I need to modify to set ffmpeg to only compile certain file types? Thank you!

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 23 Sep 2014 21:06
by edwardw
contrib/src/ffmpeg/rules.mak

Re: how to trim modules

Posted: 14 Oct 2014 17:54
by tylerjroach
Thank you!