Page 1 of 1

Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 02:03
by neosettler
Greetings,

I need to flip the video in order to render to a texture using OpenGL.

With VLC 2.2.4 on windows 8.1 I do:

Code: Select all

const Char *l_args[] = { "--video-filter=transform", "--transform-type=vflip", }; m_VLC_Instance = libvlc_new(sizeof(l_args) / sizeof(l_args[0]), l_args);
The video play flipped as intended but the subtitles are still upside down, any idea what I might be missing?

Thank you,

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 11:44
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
No, it's a known bug.

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 16:09
by neosettler
Ok thank you.

Is there a procedure for entering and tracking this bug?

When is 2.2.5 is due by the way?

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 18:41
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
What do you mean by "still"? The video transform is not intended to affect SPUs.

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 18:48
by neosettler
Hi Remis, when you transform vflip inside the application, the subtitles are flip as well but not using the libvlc and the previous code.

If you are right, what is the magic to achieve a vflip as in the VLC application? (including every possible items that could be shown on screen including subtitles and/or overlays of any kind)

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 20:13
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
Pass a window handle rather than a memory area for rendering, I guess.

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 20:15
by neosettler
Thank you for your suggestion but no can do because I must render to a texture.

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 20:22
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
I was only answering your question as to how VLC does it.

Re: Subtitles are not flip when using transform-vflip

Posted: 23 Feb 2017 20:25
by neosettler
Ah, very good point. Will this bug be fixed in the next release? When is the next release due by the way? What about Version 3.0?