Page 1 of 1

Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 26 Oct 2012 23:45
by kostyan
Is it possible to provide VLC an additional folder where to look for plugins via command line? Or even to provide a path to a specific plugin file? The only related options I found in the help output and in the forum are --plugin-path and --data-path but both seem to be deprecated.

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 27 Oct 2012 17:23
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
You should set an ENV variable

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 08:15
by kostyan
As far as I see it, vlc.c overwrites the content of the environment variable VLC_PLUGIN_PATH in line 134.

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 08:47
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
It does not.

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 09:34
by kostyan
Am I missing something? In vlc.c, line 134, this happens:

#ifdef TOP_BUILDDIR
setenv ("VLC_PLUGIN_PATH", TOP_BUILDDIR"/modules", 1).
setenv ("VLC_DATA_PATH", TOP_SRCDIR"/share", 1);
#endif

man setenv: The setenv() function adds the variable name to the environment with the value value, if name does not already exist. If name does exist in the environment, then its value is changed to value if overwrite is nonzero; if overwrite is zero, then the value of name is not changed.

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 10:01
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
ifdef...

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 10:55
by kostyan
Sure, but TOP_BUILDDIR is set when you compile from GIT.

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 16:38
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
Of course, it is. The static VLC build is meant to debug the git tree and its plugins.

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 17:29
by kostyan
Ok, I see. That means that with VLC built from GIT there is no way to add a plugin from outside the tree, right?

Re: Extend plugin path via command line

Posted: 30 Oct 2012 17:40
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
That question means nothing. The source code does what you make it do.