new codec plugin add error!

This forum is about all development around libVLC.
liyake825
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 26 Jul 2012 04:42

new codec plugin add error!

Postby liyake825 » 03 Sep 2012 08:56

I have got the libxxx-plugin.dll after my successfully compiling the new codec.
I also can saw my codec enabled when i finished configure the whole project.
But when I want to play a video coded by my own codec , it appears that the plugin has not been loaded corretly, even the libxxx-plugin.dll is just in the plugins file.
Why?
Who can help me ?

edwardw
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 2346
Joined: 24 Jun 2012 23:36
VLC version: 3.0.0-git

Re: new codec plugin add error!

Postby edwardw » 04 Sep 2012 02:40

Look at the debug messages log with something like

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv

liyake825
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 26 Jul 2012 04:42

Re: new codec plugin add error!

Postby liyake825 » 05 Sep 2012 02:45

Look at the debug messages log with something like

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv
Thank you for replay.
I have tried this for sveral times either in cmd or msys.But nothing happens.It seems that these comand line can not work on my vlc ? I don not why...

Arite
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 2478
Joined: 26 Jun 2007 20:40
VLC version: 3.0.20
Operating System: Debian Testing|Win10

Re: new codec plugin add error!

Postby Arite » 05 Sep 2012 03:52

I have tried this for sveral times either in cmd or msys.But nothing happens.It seems that these comand line can not work on my vlc ? I don not why...
You could try using a different interface like the dummy one:

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv -I dummy INPUT
Where INPUT is your input. Then you should see the output in a separate cmd window.

Or use the logger module to log to a file. In VLC, using the Qt4/default interface, go to:
Tools >> Preferences >> (Select "All" for "Show settings") >> Interface

And check "Log to file". Set the Verbosity to 2. Then you need to say where you want to put the file. This is in the "Advanced >> Logging" section of the Preferences. Enter a file name, and set the "Verbosity" to 2 again (for good measure :)). Then press "Save", close VLC and when you reopen it logging should be enabled and also VLC should write the logs to the file you specified.

Arite.
Don't use PMs for support questions.

liyake825
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 26 Jul 2012 04:42

Re: new codec plugin add error!

Postby liyake825 » 05 Sep 2012 05:06

I have tried this for sveral times either in cmd or msys.But nothing happens.It seems that these comand line can not work on my vlc ? I don not why...
You could try using a different interface like the dummy one:

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv -I dummy INPUT
Where INPUT is your input. Then you should see the output in a separate cmd window.

Or use the logger module to log to a file. In VLC, using the Qt4/default interface, go to:
Tools >> Preferences >> (Select "All" for "Show settings") >> Interface

And check "Log to file". Set the Verbosity to 2. Then you need to say where you want to put the file. This is in the "Advanced >> Logging" section of the Preferences. Enter a file name, and set the "Verbosity" to 2 again (for good measure :)). Then press "Save", close VLC and when you reopen it logging should be enabled and also VLC should write the logs to the file you specified.

Arite.
Thank you very much for reply . Arite.
I am sorry, I can not get your mean because I am fresh about this. What is your mean about "use the logger module to log to a file" ? Does this aim at helping me about loading my new codec module or the comand lines?

Liyake.

Arite
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 2478
Joined: 26 Jun 2007 20:40
VLC version: 3.0.20
Operating System: Debian Testing|Win10

Re: new codec plugin add error!

Postby Arite » 05 Sep 2012 19:01

edwardw said to look at the debug messages - they should hopefully tell you where/when/why your plugin isn't loading/has an error.

I just said a couple of different methods of gettting the messages (on Windows). If you do this:
In VLC, using the Qt4/default interface, go to:
Tools >> Preferences >> (Select "All" for "Show settings") >> Interface

And check "Log to file". Set the Verbosity to 2. Then you need to say where you want to put the file. This is in the "Advanced >> Logging" section of the Preferences. Enter a file name, and set the "Verbosity" to 2 again (for good measure :)). Then press "Save", close VLC and when you reopen it logging should be enabled and also VLC should write the logs to the file you specified.
Then you should be able to open VLC and all the logs will be written to the file you specified. Have a look through them and it should give you information about codec module etc.

Alternatively you could use a different interface like the dummy one.

Arite.
Don't use PMs for support questions.

liyake825
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 26 Jul 2012 04:42

Re: new codec plugin add error!

Postby liyake825 » 06 Sep 2012 02:46

edwardw said to look at the debug messages - they should hopefully tell you where/when/why your plugin isn't loading/has an error.

I just said a couple of different methods of gettting the messages (on Windows). If you do this:
In VLC, using the Qt4/default interface, go to:
Tools >> Preferences >> (Select "All" for "Show settings") >> Interface

And check "Log to file". Set the Verbosity to 2. Then you need to say where you want to put the file. This is in the "Advanced >> Logging" section of the Preferences. Enter a file name, and set the "Verbosity" to 2 again (for good measure :)). Then press "Save", close VLC and when you reopen it logging should be enabled and also VLC should write the logs to the file you specified.
Then you should be able to open VLC and all the logs will be written to the file you specified. Have a look through them and it should give you information about codec module etc.

Alternatively you could use a different interface like the dummy one.

Arite.

Yes, i got your mean .Thank you very much!
I found that it was my library(libxxx.a) i used for decode is not good, but that library can pass the compilation , but it can not be seen in the interface .I have just make through it yesterday by creating a new library, now I can see my video codec in the qt interface.But it still can not work now , everytime i use this new module to decode a video sequence , it will crash.


Return to “Development around libVLC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests