Page 1 of 1

Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 13 Nov 2008 18:17
by freeebit
I try to use lua interfaces under windows but seems it don't work at all.
I try the example command line

Code: Select all

vlc -I lua --lua-intf telnet --lua-config "telnet={host='*console'}"
and

Code: Select all

vlc -I lua --lua-intf telnet --lua-config "telnet={hosts={'localhost:4212','localhost:5678','*console'}}"
In the first case the process started ma nothing else happen (no console), in the second the proces start but the listen port was not created (and no console).

I try also

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv -I rc -extraintf lua --lua-intf telnet --lua-config "telnet={hosts={'localhost:4212','localhost:5678'}}"
no listen port was created and no message in console about lua

I try with vlc version 0.9.4 under Windows Vista and with vlc 0.9.6 under XP
Under gentoo linux all these 3 examples work without anay problem

Thanks in advance.

Re: Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 08:11
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Those haven't been debugged yet under windows... Please give messages and help us finish those developments.

Re: Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 11:31
by freeebit
Ok i found the problem

When i started the command

Code: Select all

vlc -I lua --lua-intf telnet --lua-config "telnet={host='*console'}" --extraintf=logger -vvv
i obtained the folowing log (just the usefull part)

Code: Select all

main debug: looking for interface module: 15 candidates lua debug: Found lua interface script: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\\lua\intf\telnet.lua main debug: using interface module "lua" main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 62.679 ms - Total 62.679 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 62.679 ms) main debug: thread 4780 (interface) created at priority 0 (interface/interface.c:168) main debug: thread started lua error: Error loading script C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\\lua\intf\telnet.lua: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\\lua\intf\telnet.lua:45: module 'host' not found: no field package.preload['host'] no file 'C:Program FilesVideoLANVLC\luaintfmoduleshost.lua' no file '.\host.lua' no file 'C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\lua\host.lua' no file 'C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\lua\host\init.lua' no file 'C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\host.lua' no file 'C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\host\init.lua' no file '.\host.dll' no file 'C:\Program Files\V main debug: thread ended
when i copied the files host.lua, common.lua and sandbox.lua fom "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\lua\intf\modules" to "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\lua" telnet and http lua intefaces start working correctly

Re: Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 11:35
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Thx man, can you please please fill a bug ?

Re: Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 16 Dec 2008 18:55
by dhirwinjr
Using freebits suggestion (copied the three *.lua files) I was able to start VLC and get a login prompt when I try to telnet but it won't take a password; it just sits at the password prompt. I've tried both of these command lines:

Code: Select all

vlc -I lua --lua-intf telnet --lua-config "telnet={hosts={'localhost:4212','localhost:5678','*console'}}" vlc -I lua --lua-intf telnet --lua-config "telnet={hosts={'localhost:4212','*console'}}"
At least it doesn't close the telnet connection right away but it still doesn't work. Any other ideas?

Thanks,
Dave

Using VLC 0.9.8a on Windows XP

Re: Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 23 Dec 2008 18:14
by dionoea
I'll try to debug that on windows during the Xmas holidays. What login and password were you trying? Did you try setting a new login/password in the --lua-config parameter?

Re: Problem using lua under windows

Posted: 28 Dec 2008 04:53
by dhirwinjr
I'll try to debug that on windows during the Xmas holidays. What login and password were you trying? Did you try setting a new login/password in the --lua-config parameter?
Thanks, and no I hadn't tried setting the login/password in the --lua-config parameter. How does one do that and where can I find information on all available lua parameters?

Thanks,
Dave