Page 1 of 1

Command line examples please

Posted: 23 Nov 2004 12:33
by Arian
Can some give some command line examples for the windows version of VLC? Let’s say I have a sample.avi Xvid video file with a subs.srt subtitle file and I want to start playback on full screen with subs on.

Thank you.

Posted: 23 Nov 2004 13:14
by Sigmund
command line is the same on windows as on other systems. The manual is littered with command line examples.

Posted: 23 Nov 2004 16:08
by Arian
I have try many times... and didn’t make it work. It is possible I missing something in the syntax. Just need an "experienced" example to see what I’m doing wrong! I’m try to understand... is my syntax wrong... of I’m that stupid?

Posted: 23 Nov 2004 17:48
by markfm
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev="Osprey-210 Video Device 1" :dshow-adev="none" :no-dshow-config :dshow-size="640x480" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=128,scale=1,sfilter=marq:logo:time}:duplicate{dst=std{access=mmsh,mux=ASFH,url=:1234}} --time-y=458 --marq-x=0 --marq-y=0 --marq-marquee="Markfm Stream Test" --marq-timeout=0 --rc-extend --logo-file=vlc32x32.png --logo-x=600 --freetype-font=c:\cygwin\home\arkfonts\AerialMono.ttf --extraintf="rc" --rc-host="192.168.2.50:23" --rc-quiet --freetype-fontsize=22 --sout-transcode-fps=5.0 --logo-transparency=40

Run VLC
Use my Osprey framegrabber as the video source
Use no audio input
Run the framegrabber at 640x480 resolution
Set up a transcoding, DIV3 video CODEC at a nominal bitrate of 128K
Add a couple of video filters -- a text banner (marquee), graphic overlay (logo), formatted time string
time-x, marq-x,... relate to positioning the overlays on the main video
--extraintf = start up the rc (remote control) interface
--rc-host = make it available over a raw socket connection, TCP port 23
--rc-extend is just to print out a bit of extra help (the marq commands can be controlled over rc)
--rc-quiet is to not try to open a DOS rc window (since I'm using a socket interface)
--freetype sets the particular font I want for time, marquee,..., and the size of the font
--sout-transcode-fps sets the outgoing (streamed) frame rate
:duplicate says I want this to be available as an mmsh stream, in an asf container, for people connecting to my IP address, port 1234

Posted: 24 Nov 2004 14:28
by Arian
Oh God! Thank you Mark!

This is far different that vlc video.avi that I was trying!

Thank you... thank you...

how do you get the socket descriptor

Posted: 17 May 2005 20:59
by shlorty
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev="Osprey-210 Video Device 1" :dshow-adev="none" :no-dshow-config :dshow-size="640x480" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=128,scale=1,sfilter=marq:logo:time}:duplicate{dst=std{access=mmsh,mux=ASFH,url=:1234}} --time-y=458 --marq-x=0 --marq-y=0 --marq-marquee="Markfm Stream Test" --marq-timeout=0 --rc-extend --logo-file=vlc32x32.png --logo-x=600 --freetype-font=c:\cygwin\home\arkfonts\AerialMono.ttf --extraintf="rc" --rc-host="192.168.2.50:23" --rc-quiet --freetype-fontsize=22 --sout-transcode-fps=5.0 --logo-transparency=40

Run VLC
Use my Osprey framegrabber as the video source
Use no audio input
Run the framegrabber at 640x480 resolution
Set up a transcoding, DIV3 video CODEC at a nominal bitrate of 128K
Add a couple of video filters -- a text banner (marquee), graphic overlay (logo), formatted time string
time-x, marq-x,... relate to positioning the overlays on the main video
--extraintf = start up the rc (remote control) interface
--rc-host = make it available over a raw socket connection, TCP port 23
--rc-extend is just to print out a bit of extra help (the marq commands can be controlled over rc)
--rc-quiet is to not try to open a DOS rc window (since I'm using a socket interface)
--freetype sets the particular font I want for time, marquee,..., and the size of the font
--sout-transcode-fps sets the outgoing (streamed) frame rate
:duplicate says I want this to be available as an mmsh stream, in an asf container, for people connecting to my IP address, port 1234


This is some good info right here but I just don't understand how to get the socket connection? I am working on a windowsXP box. Do I have to use Winsock.h or can I grab the socket somehow with a system call or what? I am confused , please help. Thanks alot

Shlorty