Page 1 of 1

Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 30 Jan 2009 18:11
by draba
Hi,

I'm developing a browser plugin based on vlc.
I would like to add some text overlay like: "Buffering: 10%"...
I know it's possible to start vlc with --marq-marqee options,
or do the same through a remote control interface...
but what if I want to do it from the code of the plug-in?
Which libvlc function should I use?

Thanks!

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 06 Feb 2009 14:00
by draba
ok... it seems to be "mediacontrol_display_text()"

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 23 Mar 2009 00:34
by tamiro44
Did you managed?

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 17 Apr 2009 17:43
by draba
yes, I could display some text with the mediacontrol_display_text()...
the problem is that I got some conflict with the deprecated playlist
module. so if you use the mediacontrol use only that and no playlist.
the other problem I got is that I wanted to display some 'buffering 10%'
message, but I cannot display any text with mediacontrol_display_text
if the video hasn't started playing.
still looking for a solution :(

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 19 Apr 2009 07:29
by tamiro44
You know that you can activate VLC with rc and then connect with regular telnet client
and change marquee.
I intend to do so (i hope i'll manage).

How can you call mediacontrol_display_text() from outside of VLC? It is not part of libvlc, right?

Tamiro.

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 21 Apr 2009 15:32
by draba
Actually mediacontrol_display_text() should be part of libvlc
since you can include it from vlc/mediacontrol.h.
depending on what you mean from "outside", you can use the display_text
function from the python bindings, java bindings (I guess), or from other
interfaces like the rc interface (telnet :wink: ).
anyway I'm trying from "inside" the activex control using functions/modules
compatible with the deprecated playlist object (osd? spu? ...?)... still looking for a solution...
Good luck!

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 21 Apr 2009 17:55
by tamiro44
I'm using Marx_libvlc_wrapper (C#), How can i use display_text?

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 22 Apr 2009 17:26
by draba
I'm sorry, I don't know this wrapper...
I tried to download Marx_libvlc_wrapper and look for mediacontrol/display_text
support but I couldn't find anything. I think this framework doesn't offer
anything like that. Did you had any luck with the telnet solution?

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 23 Apr 2009 09:11
by tamiro44
Yes (with a few problems).
I intend to upload these days a simple C# code that do the trick.
I'll let you know personally..

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 26 Apr 2009 17:20
by tamiro44
Draba,
Here is my sample to change text overlay on runtime:
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=58587
Ask me if you have any questions.

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 27 Apr 2009 13:28
by draba
Thanks!
If I'm not able to use the mediacontrol interface
now I know how to backup with the telnet solution ;)

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Posted: 21 Oct 2009 16:09
by tamiro44
Did you managed with mediacontrol_display_text()?