Page 1 of 1

Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 06 Nov 2008 10:48
by FFMG
Hi,

I have been a happy user of 0.86 for many months and I 'upgraded' to 0.94.
I used to use Piger to start a recoring and this was the command line argument that I was using, (and of course it was working fine).

Code: Select all

-vvv mms://myserver.com :sout=%vlc_transcode%:std{access=file,mux=mpeg1,dst=c:\\test.mpg}
This used to work flawlessly in 0.86 but now it does not work anymore, the error I get is
Streaming / Transcoding failed:
VLC could not open the encoder.
I can I get the command line arguments to work again?

Thanks

F.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 06 Nov 2008 11:02
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
What OS ?

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 06 Nov 2008 11:07
by FFMG
What OS ?
Well, it is WinXP but I wouldn't have thought it mattered.
Are command line arguments OS specific?

F.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 06 Nov 2008 11:14
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
mux=mpeg1 seems more than weird to me.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 06 Nov 2008 20:47
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
The transcode parameter is expanded to something wrong. Impossible to tell why because you did not include in your query.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 06 Nov 2008 21:39
by FFMG
The transcode parameter is expanded to something wrong. Impossible to tell why because you did not include in your query.
Sorry what do you mean by query?

I already included the command line arguments,

Code: Select all

-vvv mms://myserver.com :sout=%vlc_transcode%:std{access=file,mux=mpeg1,dst=c:\\test.mpg}
What other information do you need?

F.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 07 Nov 2008 03:14
by Arite
Sorry what do you mean by query?
There is no "#transcode{...}" section in your query (or commandline). Since you appear to have replaced it with "%vlc_transcode%".

Try this sout string, editing you #transcode{...} parameters accordingly (creating using the "Stream Output" section in VLC's Qt4 interface :)):

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec="mp1v",vb="800",scale="1",acodec="mpga",ab="128",channels="2"}:std{access="file",mux="mpeg",dst="C:\test.mpg"}
i.e. mux should be "mpeg" not "mpeg1" AFAIK.

Arite.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 10 Nov 2008 12:53
by FFMG
... Since you appear to have replaced it with "%vlc_transcode%".

Try this sout string, editing you #transcode{...} parameters accordingly (creating using the "Stream Output" section in VLC's Qt4 interface :)):

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec="mp1v",vb="800",scale="1",acodec="mpga",ab="128",channels="2"}:std{access="file",mux="mpeg",dst="C:\test.mpg"}
i.e. mux should be "mpeg" not "mpeg1" AFAIK.

Arite.
Sorry, you are right, I did not quote the query properly.

This is what I was using:

Code: Select all

vlc.exe -vvv mms://foo.bar :sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp1v,acodec=mpga,vb=256}:duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=file,mux=mpeg,dst=c:\\test.mpg}}
If I use that query I get the same error, "Streaming / Transcoding failed:VLC could not open the encoder."

Using the code you gave:

Code: Select all

vlc.exe -vvv mms://foo.bar :sout=#transcode{vcodec="mp1v",vb="800",scale="1",acodec="mpga",ab="128",channels="2"}:std{access="file",mux="mpeg",dst="C:\test.mpg"}
Does not start recording at all and does not give any errors, (but it creates an empty file)

F.

Re: Can someone convert this 0.8x command line to 0.9x

Posted: 10 Nov 2008 16:15
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
Sounds like your distro has removed MPEG emcoding