RC control through a socket interface

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
pjgregory

RC control through a socket interface

Postby pjgregory » 13 Oct 2004 18:29

Hi

I am new to VLC, but have just started to write a device driver so that I can control it with the CharmedQuark home automation software. This has a set of fuctions that allow you to send and receive text strings to remote or local sockets. Currently, I have written IR and RS232 drivers for my Amplifer, Projector, Lighting control etc. I had planned to use the HTTP interface for VLC, but have just seen in the relase notes for version 0.8.0 that :
The remote control interface can now listen for commands on sockets.
A direct socket interface would be much simpler as I would not have to handle all of the web page stuff.

Is there any documentation yet for this interface and the command syntax?

Are the commands the same as those described in the documentation, Chapter 4 "The Command Line Interface"?

Is the rc socket interface a 2-way interface with the possibility of querying VLC to read the current status of various paramters and the playlist track and position?

PJG

fkuehne
Developer
Developer
VLC version: 0.4.6 - present
Operating System: Darwin

Re: RC control through a socket interface

Postby fkuehne » 13 Oct 2004 19:09

Yes, the rc-interface is a 2-way interface to control the core functions and to read some current states.
The "Command line interface" you read about is something different (just command-line-options to control the options when launching VLC).
The rc-interface is not well documented currently, but we are working on it through an entire re-write of the VLC-documentation.