Page 1 of 1

Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 27 Apr 2008 08:11
by aggedor
I have been searching the list to see if this is yet possible with VLC or any other product.

Can anyone shed some light on this as at the moment the situation is not very clear. Is there a (preferably open source) tool available that will take a H.264 RTSP stream in real time and convert it to a h.264 RTMP stream?

Second question - if there is, is there an implementation that is not computationally intensive? We are not talking about transcoding here - just repackaging RTSP to RTMP in real time. Does anyone know what the computational requirements are for any existing implementations? I'm really looking for something that I can compile and run in an embedded system.

Thanks for any assistance on this.

Tim

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 27 Apr 2008 17:02
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Some people are working on that in VLC, to have a RTMP streamer output module that will do that. It is sill under development, but when finished, it shouldn't be very CPU hungry.

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 02 May 2009 02:18
by jankarlitos
There's a way........ i know at least two...

the first one.. not open source.. is called Wowza Server it is what you're looking for. This is the link: http://www.wowzamedia.com/pricing.html#prou

The second one, is Red5, i don't know wheter it transform rtsp to rtmp... or it's just pure rtmp: http://osflash.org/red5

The last solution is called VLC... but we are still waiting for native RTMP support... due to adobe's iniciative to open source its RTMP

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 09 Jan 2010 12:06
by sonix
Actually the best tool for the job would be "C++ RTMP Server" http://www.rtmpd.com.

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 28 Jan 2011 12:49
by realjobe
I'm building samekind of Streaming service where VLC produces a h264&mp4a stream with RTP to LAN and someone pulls that in producing RTMP stream to WAN.. is C++ RTMP Server suitable for this or do I study Wowza?

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 30 Jan 2011 09:52
by realjobe
Wowza seemd a bit too heavy and hard to conf, Has anyone tested "C++ RTMP Server" and btw, where to get compiled win32 version? I really don't want to compile it...

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 04 Mar 2011 18:41
by cloudsurfin
Mr. Kempf (or anyone else),

Can you update us on the latest re this post (specifically a potential VLC RTMP streamer module)?

I'm using VLC to pull an RTSP stream from an (Axis) IP camera on the LAN, not visible to the internet. Need to "push" it to Wowza on a server on the internet (camera not directly visible otherwise I'd just rtsp to it from wowza). Wowza can only pull from a specific IP address (without the push module and special permission from Wowza...and a lot of coding per tech support). Can VLC act as the RTSP pull->RTMP push to Wowza?

(red5 site is down and rtmpd exceeds my motivation level).

Thanks!

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 04 Mar 2011 22:02
by Rémi Denis-Courmont
VLC does not support RTMP. You are welcome to contribute it if you need.

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 10 Mar 2011 01:33
by panicou
@cloudsurfin

actually you can do what you describe.

I done it with my Axis P1346 and wowza 2.2

use something like this :

vlc -vvv "rtsp://username:password@192.168.x.xxx:554/axis-media/media.amp?videocodec=h264&streamprofile=high" --sout "#transcode{venc=x264{keyint=60,profile=baseline,level=3.0,nocabac},vcodec=x264,vb=500,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=64,channels=1,samplerate=16000}:rtp{dst=xxx.xxxxxxx.xx,port=10000,mux=ts}"


the trick is to set the audio format on the camera correct. It appears that there is a bug on vlc ( i am using 1.1.7) that prohibits you to properly stream audio if the camera codec is set on ACC. It must be a transcoding issue as i can listen to stream without any problems by using vlc -vvv "rtsp://username:password@192.168.x.xxx:554/axis-media/media.amp?videocodec=h264&streamprofile=high" .

Wowza off course can stream on ACC without any problem.

I set my cameras audio encoding as g711 μ-law (g726 also works) and i could hear sound.I haven`t tested it yet for audio/video sync issue properly though.

Its very weird the ACC bug however. Since i am not familiar with VLC very much,does anyone knows if i can just re-stream the stream without transcoding ? or any parameter i am missing about the sound ? or anything :)

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 10 Mar 2011 13:27
by panicou
Hm...

Apparently video-audio doesn't sync properly.

Any help on that ?

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 12 Mar 2011 01:29
by cloudsurfin
panicou, thanks for the reply. shortly after I posted here I did find this:
http://www.wowzamedia.com/forums/conten ... za-Server-(MPEG-TS

I think it's exactly what you're describing. There's also the FFMPEG version here:
http://www.wowzamedia.com/forums/conten ... za-Server-(MPEG-TS

I never could get VLC's audio right. I think we're seeing the exact same thing. RTSP to the camera with VLC or wowza and the audio works fine. Feed it through VLC with the transcode below and the audio stream gets stripped. I did also (barely) get it working in ffmpeg but it's too slow and the video ends up getting further and further behind--not real time at all.

Can anyone see off the bat why this would drop audio? It works fine without the transcode. Thanks!!

vlc -R -L rtsp://192.168.113.231/axis-media/media.amp --sout "#transcode{venc=x264{keyint=20,profile=baseline,level=3.0,nocabac},vcodec=x264,vb=150,acodec=mp4a,ab=16,channels=1,samplerate=16000}:rtp{dst=[myIPaddress.com],port=10000,mux=ts}"

Is there a commercial software solution out there?

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 14 Mar 2011 02:15
by panicou
@cloudsurfin

can you post your ffmpeg findings ?

Did you used Xuggler ffmpeg or something else ?

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 25 Mar 2011 00:53
by shiretu
Actually, you can do that with crtmpserver out-of-the-box.

There are 2 scenarios:

1. RTSP source --> crtmpserver --> flash player clients (thousands of them)
2. RTSP source --> crtmpserver --> other_RTMP_server --> flash player clients (thousands of them)

Both scenarios can be done by only editing the config file.

There is only one possible problem. The RTSP source must do h264/aac.
Also, another positive thing about crtmpserver is that it can also do ANNOUNCE so instead of pulling in the RTSP source, it can be pushed in

Cheers,
Andrei

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 11 May 2011 20:34
by realjobe
SVN got now working VS2010 port, just needs to include ssl into it also to the linker. Works! ! ;)

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 18 May 2011 03:04
by shiretu
Isn't it frustrating!?

The "S****" you are referring to is brought up to date on win$ only once a month or so. The reason, as you probably smelled, is because win$ is quite different from the rest of the OS supported by rtmpd (linux,BSD,solaris, mac os x). Also, since almost nobody is using it as a server on windows (compared to the other builds), win$ has lower priority.
Because I don't want to start a religious battle, please notice the "is quite different" expression which is exactly what I had in mind, not "bad" or "better than".

In this very moment, you have 3 options:

1. Try to fix it yourself. Really, is not that hard. Believe me. Is only a matter of properly setting up few bits and pieces here and there (add missing files to the project, update some library paths, etc). No coding
2. Wait for the next resurrection of it. It should happen really soon because it is already overdue with few days
3. Move away from it and search a different alternative. It would be pity not to at least try it. I might be subjective tho...

Cheers,
Andrei

Re: Real time streaming h.264 RTSP to RTMP ??

Posted: 18 May 2011 20:18
by realjobe
Well... Thank you very much for replying..
Finally I got the working version of this baby.. Now just configuring..
Hard part is to make the .lua for it.. :=)