Page 1 of 1

Stream with time overlay

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 19:58
by mgreene
Is it possible (specifically with a command line) to stream a file with the sub-filter time in effect and have this time format appear on the client side receiveing the stream? I tried this with the logo subfilter, but it only seemed to work if I loaded the streamer and the client instances on the same machine (I.e., not across a LAN).

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 20:36
by mgreene
OK, I found this on the forums which seems to work:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC>vlc -vvv "C:\Video\swEp01.mpg" --sout="#transcode{sfilter=time,soverlay=time,vcodec="mp2v",vb=2000}:std{access=rtp,mux=ts,url=192.168.2.22:1234}'
But a couple more questions:

1. How would I specify a --time-format="my format" option?

2. what does switch -vvv mean?

3. why does this only work when the opening delimiter on the sout argument is a

Code: Select all

"
and the closing one is a

Code: Select all

'

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 01:28
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
1. dunno
2. very very verbose
3. it should work with ' '

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 05:41
by Tappen
To put the time overlay in the top center with moderate-high opacity and time format Hour:Minute:Second you'd add the following to the end of your command line.

--time-opacity=200 --time-position=4 --time-format="%%H:%%M:%%S"

Notice the %% instead of % which is necessary if this is in a Windows cmd file. %Y%m%d%H%M%S are the 6 components of the time you can use.

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 17:25
by mgreene
Sorry, but these seem to be ignored when the time filter is specified in the transcode - I tried this:

Code: Select all

vlc.exe myfile.mpg --sout="#transcode{sfilter=time,soverlay=time,vcodec="DIV3",vb=256}:std{access=mmsh,mux=asfh,dst=10.1.8.42:8080}' --time-opacity=200 --time-position=4 --time-format="%%H:%%M:%%S"
But the last 3 args seemed to be ignored. It continued to put the time in the lower left corner, no opacity, in the format : Date H:M:S

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 21:39
by Tappen
Sometimes -- works with options, sometimes :. Try the time options starting with a colon instead.