Page 1 of 1

Regular streaming consume too much CPU

Posted: 08 Feb 2017 15:29
by yohay.kamchi
Hi all,

I am trying to run a video from http site: http://nana10live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/HD_ ... &rebase=on

It is working, but the CPU that the process takes is ~20%

Running a local file does not consume CPU at all (I guess it is the GPU that is doing the work for VLC decoding).

For me, it looks like a lot of CPU cycles go for the download of the stream). To verify that, I used the following config file:

new bg broadcast enabled
setup bg option image-duration=-1
setup bg input "http://nana10live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/HD_ ... &rebase=on"
setup bg output #transcode{sfilter=mosaic,vcodec=mp4v,vb=1024,scale=0.5}:bridge-in{id-offset=10000}:standard{access=http,mux=ogg,dst=127.0.0.1:8080}
control bg play

and opened the stream via http://127.0.0.1:8080


The first process now consumes ~20% CPU, but the second one takes only 0.7% CPU.

Originally, I was trying to use the mosaic option, but since it is consuming too much CPU (~ 50% for 4 videos), I start to debug it and found out that the problem occurs also for a direct vlc streaming from the video site.

Please assist,
Thx,
Yohay

Re: Regular streaming consume too much CPU

Posted: 09 Feb 2017 22:58
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Does it happen also with 3.0?

Re: Regular streaming consume too much CPU

Posted: 12 Feb 2017 12:11
by yohay.kamchi
Kempf,

Thanks for your reply. It is the same in the latest nightly build (vlc-3.0.0-20170212-0448-git-win64.exe). It surely looks like the VLC is working too hard on the tcp download and not on the transcoding of the videos.

I am not very familiar with video programming, but too me, it looks like something that can be handled or at least debugged for further information. The example I put at the first post, is just part of the real thing that I need, so the 20% CPU is not acceptable (see the real thing below).


Did you try to run it on your environment? do you get a better results?

I appreciate your assistance!

Thx,
Yohay


.conf and command line file for the real thing I am trying to run:
=======================================================



new video1 broadcast enabled
setup video1 option image-duration=119
setup video1 input "http://nana10live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/HD_ ... &rebase=on"
setup video1 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=1,width=640,height=360},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=1},select=noaudio}

new video2 broadcast enabled
setup video2 option image-duration=119
setup video2 input "http://localhost:65007/?url=channel-511M&mode=33"
setup video2 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=2,width=640,height=360},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=2},select=noaudio}

new video3 broadcast enabled
setup video3 option image-duration=119
setup video3 input "http://live.ch20-cdnwiz.com/ch20-abr/ch ... ylist.m3u8"
setup video3 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=3,width=640,height=360},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=3},select=noaudio}

new video4 broadcast enabled
setup video4 option image-duration=119
setup video4 input "rtmp://shoppingil-s.vidnt.com/shoppingil_ShoppingIL21TVRepeat/ShoppingIL21TV_3"
setup video4 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=4,width=640,height=360},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=4},select=noaudio}

new bg broadcast enabled
setup bg option image-duration=-1
setup bg input "C:\Users\yohay\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.video.multiscreens\resources\media\background.jpg"
setup bg output #transcode{sfilter=mosaic,vcodec=mp4v,vb=800,scale=0.3}:bridge-in{id-offset=100}:standard{access=http,mux=ogg,dst=127.0.0.1:8080}
#:display

control bg play
control video1 play
control video2 play
control video3 play
control video4 play
#C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC>vlc -vvv :ttl 12 -I telnet --telnet-password admin --telnet-port 3434 --color --vlm-conf=C:\Users\yohay\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.video.multiscreens\resources\media\example3.conf --mosaic-width=1280 --mosaic-height=720 --mosaic-keep-picture --mosaic-rows=2 --mosaic-cols=2 --mosaic-position=1 --mosaic-order=1,2,3,4

Re: Regular streaming consume too much CPU

Posted: 12 Feb 2017 23:52
by yohay.kamchi
WELL ---- IT IS DEFIANTLY A BUG!!!!!

I am running the same stream from ace player (VLC 1.1.2) and it takes no more than 1.5% CPU, while in VLC (3/2.x) it takes 25% ...

Thx,
Yohay

Re: Regular streaming consume too much CPU

Posted: 27 Feb 2017 11:20
by InTheWings
Please just monitor cpu running
./vlc --sout=#dummy "http://nana10live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/HD_ ... &rebase=on"

Re: Regular streaming consume too much CPU

Posted: 19 Apr 2017 16:47
by InTheWings
Ok, unreproduceable, no feedback, no logs and no proper test from user.
Bug closed.