Page 1 of 1

Marquee No Longer Works in 2.1.0

Posted: 07 Nov 2013 17:30
by Vhati
I had previously gotten Marquee working in 2.0.x as described below.

Thread: Tip: How to Marquee in Python (and pitfalls)

But as of 2.1.0, nothing appears when the Python binding tries to show text (re-downloaded vlc.py on 2013-11-06).


Raising the instance's verbosity to 10 yielded no obvious error messages when loading a video.
No messages coincided with attempts to show text.


The lua code I had stopped working as well (modified lua/intf/cli.lua).

Code: Select all

osd_channel = -1 ... --[[ Setup default environment ]] env = { prompt = "> "; width = 70; autocompletion = 1; autoalias = 1; welcome = _("Command Line Interface initialized. Type 'help' for help."); osd_duration = 6; } ... function osd_message(name,client,message) local input = vlc.object.input() if not input or not vlc.object.vout() then return end -- Registration requires a video input. -- But apparently no need to re-register each new input. if osd_channel == -1 then osd_channel = vlc.osd.channel_register() end message = string.gsub(message, "\\n", "\n") vlc.osd.message(message, osd_channel, "bottom", client.env.osd_duration*1000000) end ... commands_ordered = { { "osd_msg"; { func = osd_message; args = "[message]"; help = "show OSD message" } }; ... }

This is ineffective too (I have "media title on video" disabled in prefs).

Code: Select all

vlc -Adummy -vv --sub-source marq --marq-marquee "Hello world!" "demo.mp4"
But this works (with args similar to what failed in Python).

Code: Select all

vlc -Adummy -vv --video-title-show --video-title-timeout 1 --sub-source marq --marq-marquee "Hello world!" "demo.mp4"

Re: Marquee No Longer Works in 2.1.0

Posted: 10 Dec 2013 13:56
by Vhati
Still broken in VLC 2.1.2.

Re: Marquee No Longer Works in 2.1.0

Posted: 02 Feb 2014 03:41
by HanZie82
Using 2.1.2 and wondering if there will be anything done about this major bug.

I just want to display the title and time contentiously on the video that's playing...

Re: Marquee No Longer Works in 2.1.0

Posted: 11 May 2014 13:21
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
2.2.0 will fixed this bug. You can try tomorrow nightly build.