Page 1 of 1

Mosaic and CLI newbie problems

Posted: 20 Jun 2013 13:28
by rakrul
Hi.

I currently have 3 video streams (actually, only 2 active atm) that I want to mosaic in a single VLC instance. I have three problems with my current setup;
1) It stops after 10 seconds.
The windows and VLC is still up and running, but it the picture doesn't change. If I only show one stream with no mosaic, it works fine. I have a theory of this being related to the background picture that by default only streams for 10 seconds, but all mosaic examples in the doc, doesn't have any duration=-1 settings and if I try to add it on the input line, I get no picture at all.
2) It opens 3 Direct3D windows, one per stream (=2) and the mosaic stream. I only want the mosaic stream. Or at the very least, only show the mosaic in fullscreen. Currently all 3 are fullscreen and it's completely random which window ends up on top.
3) There seems to be a memory leak
It keeps eating up all available memory (total of 4GB RAM) until it crashes. This might be related to something wrong I do in 1) though. Also, this is windows version 2.0.7 but it also happens in 2.0.2 and 2.0.6.

Here's my config:

Code: Select all

"c:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" -Irc --vlm-conf C:\Users\Tech\Documents\mosaic.vlm.conf --mosaic-width=1920 --mosaic-height=1200 --mosaic-keep-picture --mosaic-rows=2 --mosaic-cols=2 --mosaic-position=1 --mosaic-order=1,2,3 --udp-caching=800
mosaic.vlm.conf:

Code: Select all

new channel1 broadcast enabled setup channel1 input http://172.30.141.106:8080 setup channel1 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=1,width=400,height=300},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=1}} new channel2 broadcast enabled setup channel2 input http://172.30.141.119:8080 setup channel2 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=2,width=400,height=300},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=2}} new channel3 broadcast enabled setup channel3 input http://172.30.142.140:8080 setup channel3 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=3,width=200,height=150},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=3}} new background broadcast enabled setup background input C:\Users\Tech\Documents\4TechDiff800x600.PNG setup background output #transcode{sfilter=mosaic,vcodec=wmv2,vb=3000,scale=1}:bridge-in{delay=400,id-offset=100}:std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=localhost:1234,sap,name="mosaic"} control background play control channel1 play control channel2 play
(Since channel3 is down, I'm not playing it.)

Re: Mosaic and CLI newbie problems

Posted: 20 Jun 2013 13:37
by rakrul
I should add that I'm running a second instance of VLC with:

Code: Select all

vlc --fullscreen udp://@:1234
to display the actual mosaic (and unfortunately the two other streams). This might be wrong but I can't dst=display to work.

Re: Mosaic and CLI newbie problems

Posted: 21 Jun 2013 14:01
by rakrul
If I add loop to the

Code: Select all

new background broadcast enabled
line, it doesn't die after 10 seconds but it restarts the stream every 10 seconds which is annoying.