[Bug] Found peculiar bug on RC

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
tido
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Oct 2009 23:40

[Bug] Found peculiar bug on RC

Postby tido » 28 Oct 2009 23:49

Hi all,

I've found a bug that occurs only in RC (?), when you unset the hotkey for pause and quit.

I'm running VLC 1.0.2 on Windows 7 x64 as well as Arch Linux.

Start VLC with the following command:

Code: Select all

vlc.exe --ignore-config --key-play-pause= --key-quit= --intf=rc
Use the add command to add something to play. While it does so, use the pause command to make it pause. You will see that it also issues a quit for some reason.

Note that this does not occur if you omit one of the --key-* flags, i.e.

Code: Select all

vlc.exe --ignore-config --key-play-pause= --intf=rc
or

Code: Select all

vlc.exe --ignore-config --key-quit= --intf=rc
Example output from Linux:

Code: Select all

$ vlc --ignore-config --key-play-pause= --key-quit= --intf=rc VLC media player 1.0.2 Goldeneye Remote control interface initialized. Type `help' for help. add Videos/Invader ZIM/[2x11B] FBI Warning of Doom.avi Trying to add Videos/Invader ZIM/[2x11B] FBI Warning of Doom.avi to playlist. add: returned 0 (no error) [0x2854268] a52 decoder: A/52 channels:2 samplerate:48000 bitrate:192000 No accelerated IMDCT transform found pause status change: ( new input: Videos/Invader ZIM/[2x11B] FBI Warning of Doom.avi ) status change: ( audio volume: 256 ) status change: ( play state: 3 ) pause: returned 0 (no error) status change: ( stop state: 0 ) status change: ( stop state: 0 ) status change: ( quit ) $
Regardless of how you've set up your keys, it should not have any effect on the RC command set. I've had a friend confirm this being the case as well. I'm hoping more people can confirm it.
Last edited by tido on 30 Oct 2009 22:01, edited 2 times in total.

Rémi Denis-Courmont
Developer
Developer
Posts: 15331
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 16:01
VLC version: master
Operating System: Linux
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Found peculiar bug on RC

Postby Rémi Denis-Courmont » 29 Oct 2009 08:19

If you unset the pause key, you cannot emit it with 'key key-pause' anymore. It is arguable whether this is a feature or a bug. But you can always use 'play' and 'pause' directly.
Rémi Denis-Courmont
https://www.remlab.net/
Private messages soliciting support will be systematically discarded

tido
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Oct 2009 23:40

Re: [Bug] Found peculiar bug on RC

Postby tido » 29 Oct 2009 21:41

I'm not quite sure what you mean about emitting the key-pause key, but it isn't quite ideal for the pause command in RC to act as a quit command regardless of how you've set up your hotkeys. As far as I understand, unsetting hotkeys shouldn't have any effect on the RC command set.

Unless, of course, I'm totally wrong in assuming so. In that case, please enlighten me.


Return to “General VLC media player Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests