How can I make my module a DLL?

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
tihctw
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Aug 2008 08:32

How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby tihctw » 08 Jan 2009 15:08

Hi all,
Sorry for my stupid question, I just created a module under modules/access and it compiled fine. However, I didn't see it, e.g. libaccess_myModule_plugin.dll, in the plugins folder after "make package-win32-base", but libaccess_myModule_plugin.la and libaccess_myModule_plugin_la-myModule.lo in modules/access folder.
What I did was that added SOURCES_access_myModule = myModule.c and libvlc_LTLIBRARIES += libaccess_myModule_plugin.la to modules/access/Modules.am
Is there anything I missed? Please tell me how I can make my module a DLL.
Thank you very much in advance!

Tihctw

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 08 Jan 2009 16:02

Have you checked whether it is present in modules/access/.libs?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

tihctw
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Aug 2008 08:32

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby tihctw » 09 Jan 2009 03:12

Have you checked whether it is present in modules/access/.libs?
Oh, YES! It's there. But why it didn't get moved to the plugins folder after "make package-win32-base"?
Sorry, I cannot understand the Makefile very well. Still learning.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 09 Jan 2009 10:20

Try to make package-win32-base-debug.
There will be a find command, and this is from where it is getting copied.

Are you sure you added correctly your module to configure.ac?

What is your module about?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

tihctw
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Aug 2008 08:32

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby tihctw » 09 Jan 2009 11:07

Well, just need a module similar to access_udp. However, over tcp instead of udp. To be more specific, I call it access_tcprtp module.
Actually, I'm not that sure if I added my module to configure.ac correctly or not.
For configure.ac, I simply added my module to all the places where access_tcp presents because I don't have enough knowledge about it. @_@
Was there anything else I should add to configure.ac? Thanks in advance!
Last edited by tihctw on 09 Jan 2009 11:09, edited 1 time in total.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 09 Jan 2009 11:09

No, this seems fine.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

tihctw
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Aug 2008 08:32

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby tihctw » 09 Jan 2009 11:12

j-b, is there any existing module I can use to achieve it instead of coding a new module which is REALLY similar to access_udp module?
Thanks again.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 09 Jan 2009 11:15

j-b, is there any existing module I can use to achieve it instead of coding a new module which is REALLY similar to access_udp module?
Thanks again.
Why not working on the rtp module?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

tihctw
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Aug 2008 08:32

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby tihctw » 09 Jan 2009 11:33

Why not working on the rtp module?
Sorry, my bad. It's not about rtp. I shouldn't name it access_tcprtp. The input data from the tcp socket is MPEG4 encoded and in TS container format.
So, you still think rtp module is a good approach?

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 09 Jan 2009 11:36

Isn't there already a TCP.c access module?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

tihctw
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Aug 2008 08:32

Re: How can I make my module a DLL?

Postby tihctw » 09 Jan 2009 11:48

you mean I can use tcp://@:1234? or use access_tcp module as a template?


Return to “General VLC media player Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests