Page 1 of 1

How to embed video and get Windows Media Player to STOP!

Posted: 07 Jun 2009 06:12
by lindarw
I am a novice at this...

Here's my problem: I am working in a website builder program, when I use the VLAN suggested HTML code to embed a video, the target= command refers to the site where the video will be opened, since the video is not yet there as I have not transferred it yet nothing happens, I feel I should be using the src= command. When I do this the windows media player defaults and since only the audio will play (I don't have a video decoder installed), I can hear it so I know it is accessing it. How do I get the windows media player to not override when I am putting in this relative path?

See below:

<html>

<head><title>Mom and Dad in Korea</title></head>

<body>
<h1>Mom and Dad in Korea</h1>
<embed type="application/x-vlc-plugin"
name="MomandDadatHomeinKorea"
autoplay="no" loop="yes" width="200" height="200"
src="C:\Documents and Settings\***\My Documents\My Videos\MomandDadatHomeinKorea.mpg" />
<br />
<a href="javascript:;" onclick='document. MomandDadatHomeinKorea.play()'>Play </a>
<a href="javascript:;" onclick='document. MomandDadatHomeinKorea.pause()'>Pause </a>
<a href="javascript:;" onclick='document. MomandDadatHomeinKorea.stop()'>Stop video1</a>
<a href="javascript:;" onclick='document. MomandDadatHomeinKorea.fullscreen()'>Fullscreen</a>
</body>
</html>


Any help will be appreciated...

(I have already set the file to open with VLC, and I have also gone to explorere and set VLC as the preferred program for .mpg files) :?

Re: How to embed video and get Windows Media Player to STOP!

Posted: 07 Jun 2009 23:16
by Mika56
I'm not sure, but :
Set an id to your embed (such as id="MomandDatatHomeinKorea"), then, set your a such as :

Code: Select all

<a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('MomandDatatHomeinKorea'.play();">Play</a>
Mika.

Re: How to embed video and get Windows Media Player to STOP!

Posted: 08 Jun 2009 03:23
by lindarw
Thanx Mika,

I actually got the video to play in VLC by going through firefox and disabling windows media player so that the default was VLC....

I also think the web site program I was using defaulted to wmp, but I used the classid and codebase for VLC and that worked.


Thanx for your info

lindarw