automating vlc installation

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
dexterm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2009 20:53

automating vlc installation

Postby dexterm » 01 Apr 2009 20:57

I have created a Microsoft CAB that will install the vlc ActiveX control to users of my web page.

This process works. However, the ActiveX control is not installed by default (and I need it to). In addition, the vld application is invoked at the end of the install automatically (and I don't want it to).

So, my question - is there a way to install the vlc in an automated fashion with some type of response/answer file where I can specify the defaults?

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 01 Apr 2009 22:03

Repackage the VLC and the dlls. But in our installer ActiveX is the default...
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

revolunet
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 515
Joined: 17 Oct 2007 13:16
VLC version: 0.9.8
Operating System: Vista
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby revolunet » 01 Apr 2009 22:27

if you make a vlc plugins auto install, it would be nice to share the .exe/.cab

thanks !
VLC & web IT consulting - http://www.revolunet.com
Github : http://github.com/revolunet

dexterm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2009 20:53

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby dexterm » 02 Apr 2009 14:43

JB,

Sorry but I just started using yuor product two days ago. I don't understand what you mean when you say, "repackage the vlc and the dll's"... Repackage them in what fashion?

Plus, I've installed the player both manually as well as via my install. ActiveX was not the default (thus my reason for trying to determine if I can influence the install via a script of some type).

So, do you have a mechanism to automate the install so vlc is installed silently when a web page is opened?

Thanks,

Dexter

dexterm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2009 20:53

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby dexterm » 02 Apr 2009 14:58

revolunet,

Your post just made me think....

I followed the example posted on the web site in creating my cab file. So, I am installing the entire VLC application. However, all I need is the actievX control so I can embed the player in a web page. Are you saying that I can install the plug-ins only with the activeX control? IF so, do you have an example you can share on how to do this (or can you point me to an example on the VideoLan web site)?

Thanks,

Dexter

revolunet
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 515
Joined: 17 Oct 2007 13:16
VLC version: 0.9.8
Operating System: Vista
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby revolunet » 02 Apr 2009 15:03

sorry no (good) idea...
VLC & web IT consulting - http://www.revolunet.com
Github : http://github.com/revolunet

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 02 Apr 2009 16:25

JB,

Sorry but I just started using yuor product two days ago. I don't understand what you mean when you say, "repackage the vlc and the dll's"... Repackage them in what fashion?

Plus, I've installed the player both manually as well as via my install. ActiveX was not the default (thus my reason for trying to determine if I can influence the install via a script of some type).

So, do you have a mechanism to automate the install so vlc is installed silently when a web page is opened?

Thanks,

Dexter
Package axvlc.dll, libvlc.dll, libvlccore.dll and all plugins/ folder in an installer.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

Fox-xxxx
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 17
Joined: 29 May 2007 12:26

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby Fox-xxxx » 02 Apr 2009 17:29

Actually u could pasle not all dll to plugins/ folder
it depending of the task, what u want to do with ur activeX (play, stream, transcode,...)

dexterm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2009 20:53

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby dexterm » 02 Apr 2009 19:28

I just want to play a network stream.

I have set up my .INF file to create my CAB file like this:

[version]
signature="$CHICAGO$"
AdvancedINF=2.0

[Add.Code]
axvlc.dll=axvlc.dll
libvlc.dll=libvlc.dll
libvlccore.dll=libvlccore.dll

[axvlc.dll]
FileVersion=0,8,6,0
clsid={9BE31822-FDAD-461B-AD51-BE1D1C159921}
RegisterServer=yes
hook=nsiinstaller

[libvlc.dll]
hook=nsiinstaller

[libvlccore.dll]
FileVersion=0,9,8,1
hook=nsiinstaller

[nsiinstaller]
run=%EXTRACT_DIR%\vlc-0.9.8a-win32.exe /S

I am creating the cab file like this: CABARC.EXE N vlc.cab vlc.inf axvlc.dll libvlc.dll libvlccore.dll vlc-0.9.8a-win32.exe

All of this appears to work.

I have a test web page that invokes the CAB file like this:

<head id="Head1" runat="server">
<title></title>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
function Init() {
var obj = document.getElementById('vlc');
obj.playlist.clear();
obj.playlist.add('rtsp://192.168.1.229:8554/camera1000040?live'); // replace entry 0
obj.playlist.play();
}
</script>
</head>
<title>VLC test page</title>
<body onload="javascript:Init();" style="background:transparent; foregroune:transparent">
<object classid="clsid:9BE31822-FDAD-461B-AD51-BE1D1C159921" codebase="vlc.cab"
align="middle" height="226" id="vlc">
<param name="Src" value="rtsp://192.168.1.229:8554/camera1000040?live" />
<param name="Enabled" value="1" />
<param name="AutoPlay" value="True" />
</object>
</body>
</html>

The problem is that active option is NOT being taken as default. Sine, I am using the "silent" option, I need to set it from within the cab. Is there a way to set the option to install activeX?

jyo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2009 13:23

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby jyo » 09 Apr 2009 13:32

You need to create VLC installer (.exe in case of windows) again.
VLC used NSIS for creating installers.
Steps to follow for Windows
1. Download VLC installation zip from VLC site.
2. Unzip in a dir
3. you will find a 'vlc.win32.nsi'.
4. Download NSIS (http://nsis.sourceforge.net/Download). Install it.
5. Open vlc.win32.nsi file with NSIS editor.
6. Change the following lines
"Section "ActiveX plugin" SEC04
SectionIn 1 3"
to
"Section "ActiveX plugin" SEC04
SectionIn 1 2 3 RO"
Where RO represents the Required attribute.
7. Compile the updated .nsis file using NSIS editor
8. It will create a new vlc.exe. This VLS installer will have ActiveX by default.


HTH

Yaffle
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Apr 2009 22:55

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby Yaffle » 10 Apr 2009 07:52

And remove "\o" option for section!

dexterm
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Apr 2009 20:53

Re: automating vlc installation

Postby dexterm » 10 Apr 2009 14:18

Thanks for all the suggestions but, this hasn't gotten way too complicated. Based on what I just read, I downloaded the source-code, a NSIS installer...discovered I needed something to handle a "tarball".

I've been instructed to just copy the activeX control and create our own installer that will register the activeX control with regsvr. If the plug-ins are needed, we will include in our install.

The bottom line is, all I want to install is the activeX control and NOT the full-blown vlc installation.

So, can anyone tell me the name of the activeX control? I've installed the full-blown vlc installtion on my pc. What folder can I find the control in?

Thanks


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests