Page 1 of 1
Strange problem when opening local page with firefox
Posted: 18 Dec 2006 15:49
by karlar
I got a strange problem everytime I open a local html page, containing vlc embed code, with firefox.
Firefox opens a new commandline termial window, see image.
http://apanta.com/media/image/error/work/cmdproblem.png
When i try to close the termial, firefox also closes down, which is a pain and see my page in action.
Do anyone have the same problem on its just some strange happening on my computer.
This only seems to happen if i got no other instances of firefox open.
My test html page:
Code: Select all
<html>
<body>
<embed type="application/x-vlc-plugin" pluginspage="http://www.videolan.org"
progid="VideLAN.VLCPlugin.2"
width="640"
height="480"
id="vlc">
</body>
</html>
By the way i am running Windows XP pro.
Posted: 19 Dec 2006 15:38
by Quovodis
it sounds like you've hit a bug in vlc or mozilla, try putting a dummy URL as a source tag in the embed type; such as
...
src="
http://bla.bla.bla"
...
vlc will try to play that and will silentely failed
Posted: 19 Dec 2006 15:50
by karlar
no luck, still does the same thing
but thats ok, i can live with it.
I just need to have a other mozilla window open and it all work fine.
Posted: 19 Dec 2006 19:25
by Spellcoder
The same things happens to me if I try to use the 0.8.6 plugin in Portable Firefox or Mobile Firefox (
ticket #900). Do you use one of those or the regular Firefox ?
Posted: 19 Dec 2006 21:52
by karlar
regular firefox for the moment
Posted: 20 Dec 2006 12:14
by Spellcoder
Did you have this issue with older versions of the plugin?
For example try the 0.8.5 or 0.8.6-test1 plugin.
This might not be a working solution since 0.8.6-test1 seems unstable on some computers, but could help to find the problem if it's a recent bug.
0.8.6-test1:
http://downloads.videolan.org/pub/video ... 8.6-test1/
0.8.5 (requires the old API and progid)
http://downloads.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/0.8.5/
Posted: 21 Dec 2006 11:16
by karlar
I cant get the old version to work now, it used to work, so i guess that all that installation and reinstallation and perhaps also that my windows could use a reinstallation. It might just be a local problem.
Posted: 30 Dec 2006 08:16
by Allclone
I have this error come up all the time for me, it only happens when I tried loading firefox up using the local page with firefox not currently in memory (totally unloaded). If I manually loaded firefox first then open the page it runs the plugin ok, I don't know if this is a problem with the plugin or the way firefox first loads & trying to load the plugin at the same time. Or at leas thats the only time I can get that same problem to occur.
Posted: 30 Jan 2007 16:50
by shriverde
It is not only with firefox...
Check
viewtopic.php?t=31711
I have experienced the same problem with IE. I think it has something do do with XP in general.
Are you opening your local document by using a shortcut? Or are you opening it by going to file then choosing the document to open?
Thanks
Posted: 01 Feb 2007 10:52
by Quovodis
this problem is related to
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/920, until we fix it, you will need to make sure that IE/firefox command line is empty
Posted: 01 Feb 2007 14:21
by Spellcoder
Then I'm quite convinced this also causes ticked #900 (with Mobile Firefox and Portable Firefox not working since 0.8.6-test2).
I'm guessing they pass the url they want to open as command line arguments.
And it causes the same error message and empty vlc-help.txt file in my Firefox map.
This is troubling me since I don't want to distrubute an old testversion of the VLC plugin with my webapplication on DVD
Don't know if Karlar tried 0.8.6-test1 or only 0.8.5 ?
Posted: 07 Feb 2007 19:16
by hogi82
Possible workaround: Transform your filename for the video (sound or whatever) to a URL. Sample c:\test\video.mpg --> file://c:/test/video.mpg . At least for testing it worked for me.