Mozilla plugin-what am i doing wrong?

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
atg2d
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Apr 2006 13:41

Mozilla plugin-what am i doing wrong?

Postby atg2d » 12 Apr 2006 14:44

Hi it's my first attempt to embed vlc in html.
here's the code i'm using:

Code: Select all

<html> <head><title>Demo of VLC mozilla plugin</title></head> <body> <h1>Demo of VLC mozilla plugin - Example 2</h1> <embed type="application/x-vlc-plugin" name="video1" autoplay="yes" loop="yes" width="400" height="300" target="http://127.0.0.1/Toxic.mp3" /> <br /> <a href="javascript:;" onclick='document.video1.play()'>Play video1</a> <a href="javascript:;" onclick='document.video1.pause()'>Pause video1</a> <a href="javascript:;" onclick='document.video1.stop()'>Stop video1</a> <a href="javascript:;" onclick='document.video1.fullscreen()'>Fullscreen</a> </body> </html>
It's almost an exact copy of the example given on vlc site.
I have the plugin installed, but i am using the zip version of VLC and firefox also. I have copied npvlc.dll and vlcintf.xpt by hand in the firefox plugins directory. Do they contain everything that is needed for the plugin to work or it needs some paths to the vlc directory or something else?
I am interested in making the plugin work in firefox only i don't need IE, mozilla or anything else. I have tried everything i managed to find in this forum, but nothing works - there is no indication that there is any plugin on the page. I see the plugin in the about:plugins.
I use Firefox 1.5.0.2 and VLC 0.8.4a.
Firefox extensions installed are:
Console2 - v0.3.4
DevBoi - v0.5.1
Some DevBoi packages
MozrefSidebar - v0.5
ExtensionDeveloper
and an extension i am developing.
I would appreciate any help.
Thanks

atg2d
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Apr 2006 13:41

Postby atg2d » 17 Apr 2006 10:43

Doesn't anyone know anything? Come on at least give a suggestion.
I need this for a firefox extension i am making. It may bring more popularity to VLC but if there are such problems with the plugin it wouldn't be very user frienfly.
Please help me solve this.

Quovodis
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 271
Joined: 16 Jun 2004 11:13
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Quovodis » 18 Apr 2006 12:33

on win32, the mozilla plugin is invisible if there is no video being played. Since you are playing an mp3 you should get audio if can access the URL.
If you installed NPVLC.DLL by itself on the target machine, it won't be able to play anything as it also requires that the VLC plugins to be installed as well.
I recommend that you use the installer

atg2d
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Apr 2006 13:41

Postby atg2d » 18 Apr 2006 16:14

Hi thanks for the reply.
Yes using the installer everything works and that solves my problem. Thank you.
However i would like to know what exactly means "the VLC plugins to be installed as well"? What should be done to install these plugins? I just prefer using the zip version and prefer doing that installation by hand.
Thank you.

atg2d
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Apr 2006 13:41

Postby atg2d » 18 Apr 2006 19:57

And i have one more question. How can i set and get information from VLC - for example how can i get how many subtitle tracks are found, and how to set one of these tracks to show.
In the help i see there are some set_... and get_... functions and i guess i have to use them to do that but where is the variable list - the valid variables i can use with these functions?
Thank you


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests